1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Just installed the Mikg v2.61 rom and..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rbtrucking, Nov 26, 2011.

  1. rbtrucking

    rbtrucking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    115
    15
    38
    I Love it!!! It is soo nice, and smooth! I just had a question though is the free wifi tethering included in this rom because I see the option to use it. I just dont want to use it then see a 30 dollar increase in my sprint bill next month. O ya and for anyone considering this ROM its a definite Go! Best one I have used yet!
     

    Advertisement

  2. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    The ROM is a go, very smooth and very little issues. And I do the hotspot all the time for the last 2-3 months and I have yet to get the additional $30 charge on my bill.
     
    AARONONE, ocnbrze and rbtrucking like this.
  3. rbtrucking

    rbtrucking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    115
    15
    38
    Nice Ill tell ya honestly with all the stuff you can do with this evo it really is a mystery how anyone can mess with an Iphone! My bro has one, and let me say I am not impressed!
     
  4. shmn

    shmn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #160
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    532
    272
    113
    Marine Diesel Mech
    WA State
    Some people just want a phone that works and the iPhone works. It's smooth and consistent and intuitive. Apple controls the hardware and software and market so everything works well. Our phones are made by HTC with software from HTC, Google and Sprint. And a lot of stuff feels cobbled together. Sure, you can root and have a lot more "power" but the vast majority of people do not want to root...they just want a product that works out of the box. I'm just starting with rooting and I've spent this Thanksgiving holiday learning about it and actually doing it and I haven't even scratched the surface and I have already spent dozens of hours on it. Sorry for the OT semi-rant.
     
    Granite1, ocnbrze and Rxpert83 like this.
  5. rbtrucking

    rbtrucking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    115
    15
    38
    I know exactly what you mean my bro is that way. He dont want to mess with rooting or anything like you say he just wants something that works out of the box. Not me, I love customizing stuff to make it exactly how I want it! Also if you are new into rooting you have allot of fun times ahead of you. Allot of these roms are really amazing and make your phone perform a LOT better than the stock rom. Enjoy your rooting adventures, and make sure you follow the pro's instructions so you dont end up bricking your phone!
     
    ocnbrze, Rxpert83 and shmn like this.
  6. KathyL

    KathyL Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    42
    33
    43
    Accountant, Paralegal
    Whittier, CA
    MikG roms include the hotspot WiFi hack and it's the same as using a gathering app. Sprint has no way of knowing that your using hotspot and you won't be billed for it!!
     
  7. rbtrucking

    rbtrucking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    115
    15
    38
    Amazing! If I had known how customizable these android phones were I would have never even considered an Iphone, and I would have gotten this thing a long time ago! Thanks everyone for showing me the way!
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    very glad that you finally see the light. just a warning though, this is an addiction. we have ics coming down the road very soon.
     
    rbtrucking, Rxpert83 and KathyL like this.
  9. KathyL

    KathyL Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    42
    33
    43
    Accountant, Paralegal
    Whittier, CA
    +1 on that!!!
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  10. rbtrucking

    rbtrucking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    115
    15
    38
    Ya, I have been reading about that, cant wait!
     
  11. shad1906

    shad1906 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011

    Oct 29, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Dallas, Tx
    Quick question someone....So I just installed Mikg v2.61 rom and can't seem to get 4G working or picking up a signal in 4G areas. Is there something I'm doing wrong. I had the same problem running the SNS Gingerbread rom as well. Im a noob and these are the only two roms I've used. I have HBOOT-6.16.1002
    MICROP-041f
    Touch Panel-ATMELC03_16ac
    RADIO-1.39.00.04.26
     
  12. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    What was your wiping procedure?

    Did you install a custom kernel?

    If so, what was your wiping procedure for that?
     
  13. shad1906

    shad1906 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011

    Oct 29, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Dallas, Tx
    I wiped davlik cache, cache, and data. Then flashed vr superwipe twice. No kernels flashed. Also i downloaded Wimax key checker from the market and it says I have the rsa key.
     
  14. AARONONE

    AARONONE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010

    Dec 23, 2010
    341
    168
    68
    Male
    Los Angeles area
    I have been having the same problem with both of those roms as well. I just asumed it was sprint's weak 4g signal.
     
  15. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1,094
    844
    213
    Male
    Illinois
    Just a heads up Im having no problem with the 4G on the same rom with the kernel that comes with it. That would tell me its either a download problem or flashing problem. Hopefully some more people will comment on this. Are either of you on a different kernel?
     
  16. shad1906

    shad1906 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011

    Oct 29, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Dallas, Tx
    I didn't flash a custom kernel. Any suggestions on what to do in the meantime?
     
  17. shad1906

    shad1906 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011

    Oct 29, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Dallas, Tx
    I didn't flash a custom kernel. Any suggestions on what to do in the meantime?
     
  18. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    looks like you have very old radios. not sure if that is the problem or not. you might want to upgrade them and see if that helps. just make sure that you have a nandroid backup that has your wimax keys backed up.
     
    frenchy714 likes this.
  19. shad1906

    shad1906 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011

    Oct 29, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Dallas, Tx
    Ocnbrze
    I'll give that a try. I'm weary tho messing around with radios, I've heard horror stories of how u can brick your phone........I'm still trying to figure out posting these msgs too.
     
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    it can happen do not get me wrong, but most of the time i think that it is user error. the main thing is that you should have a full battery before doing so. all you need is to be patient. it can take a bit long sometimes. whatever you do, do not pull the battery out. also when it is done, the screen does not change much leaving people to think that it is still installing. if you see a menu at the top then you are done.

    i would flash the radio combo found at the top of this thread:
    [ Radios ][ 9-5 ] All EVO Radio, WiMAX, PRI, NV & HBoot versions - xda-developers
     
    Granite1 and frenchy714 like this.
  21. shad1906

    shad1906 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011

    Oct 29, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Dallas, Tx
    I finally got an opportunity to flash the combo, and it worked!!! My 4G is back in action! Preciate that! Had another question, I periodically see 1X instead of 3G at times, is this good or bad?
     
  22. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    glad it worked for you.

    what you are seeing is your true signal. htc made it so that it always will show 3g as your signal strength when in actuality you only were getting 1x speeds. so it is good and bad i guess.
     
    frenchy714 and shad1906 like this.
  23. RCope48

    RCope48 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    151
    64
    53
    Boiler Master
    Colorado
    4G? whats that? Oh that's right I have a 4G phone, and pay for the 4G service, but its nowhere near where I am? I work in downtown Denver, Sprint say it is covered with 4G, but all I have is a weak, puny signal.:mad:

    Oh well, still love my EVO
     
  24. kooolaid79

    kooolaid79 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    154
    34
    43
    Are your radios updated? Maybe you should do the update also.
     
    frenchy714 likes this.
  25. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    +1 on updating your radio's.

    A lot of forum members report a much stronger 4G signal after updating, some don't YMMV.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...