1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Just put on an Avatar bluray rip and....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MarcMaiden, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    590
    201
    113
    Bay Area, ca
    This thing sells itself!

    Ive tried Avatar and Transformers 2 on the phone and its like watching a screen equivalent to an HD tv with 120hz refresh rate.

    anyone else try a few .mkv files? how did they work for you?



    on a side note, I was trying to sell a captivate to a family and showing them some of th features, when I got a fring video call request from my friend who was working on the other side of town at best buy mobile....they were pretty impressed on how well it worked :)


    just thought I'd share some good, to de-clutter all the "bad gps" posts :p
     

    Advertisement

  2. mercdizzle

    mercdizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    122
    9
    36
    too bad no ffc to use with fring. what a shame.
     
  3. YellowGT0

    YellowGT0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    114
    22
    38
  4. jgcalderonperez

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    What app do you use to convert the movies ?
     
  5. Reggie3

    Reggie3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    193
    15
    48
    Male
    Retired Project Manger -HP/Agilent
    Fort Collins CO
    2nd - I assume you need to do something for the copy protection and then something to convert to MP4
     
  6. MrTony

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    260
    36
    43
    No need to convert to MP4 format. You can get mkv, avi, etc straight from the newsgroups.
     
  7. jgcalderonperez

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    I'm testing with "Handbrake" let's see how it goes... :)
     
  8. seatleman

    seatleman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I have Avatar on my captivate and it looks amazing
     
  9. MrTony

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    260
    36
    43
    I put Clash of the Titans on my Captivate the day I got it. It really makes people's jaws drop :D
     
  10. Terry S

    Terry S Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    96
    11
    18
    Another noob here so pls excuse.. but where do you get these movies?
     
  11. sdonn

    sdonn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    do you guys know a way to put a movie larger than 4 gigs onto the phone? cause i get an error every time i try
     
  12. DT

    DT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    783
    145
    93
    Owner, Senior Software Architect, V2N
    Vilano Beach, FL
    That's a limitation of the FAT/32 filesystem, so I would say the solution would be to break up files into <=4GB chunks.
     
  13. Reggie3

    Reggie3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    193
    15
    48
    Male
    Retired Project Manger -HP/Agilent
    Fort Collins CO
    They have the dvds
     
  14. getDange

    getDange Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    252
    29
    43
    they have blurays.
     
  15. JuneNYC

    JuneNYC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    86
    9
    16
    Just get the 1.9Gig 720p version floating around in the interwebz. Even the 800mb ripped version look amazing on this phone. Super amoled technology will be the future standard in tv screens. So we are getting a taste of future tech 2years early.
     
  16. Reggie3

    Reggie3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    193
    15
    48
    Male
    Retired Project Manger -HP/Agilent
    Fort Collins CO
    Handbrake only does DVDs right - what do you use for Bluray
     
  17. rajendra82

    rajendra82 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    172
    20
    38
    Civil Engineer
    Atlanta, Georgia
    I put Star Trek (2009) on it for demonstration purposes. The opening sequence makes my own jaw drop due to the high contrast between the white hot explosions and bright star light and the dark shadows of space and the interior of the spaceship. It seriously looks way better on SAMOLED than on my 60" Plasma.
     
  18. rajendra82

    rajendra82 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    172
    20
    38
    Civil Engineer
    Atlanta, Georgia
    How old are you, six? Have you not been around for the move from napster to kazaa to torrent? Have you never ripped a DVD before? Don't you know how to look in the browser's cache for movies you just watched?

    Edit: I am sorry. I don't know what I was thinking.
     
  19. CoMaToast

    CoMaToast Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    178
    0
    35
    \\nope


    and im 31
     
  20. fireonhigh

    fireonhigh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    167
    8
    36
    what is everyone using to connect to the t.v.? i tried a rca cable for the nokia n97 and it will not work,but works fine on my omnia2
     
  21. getDange

    getDange Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    252
    29
    43
    Let's be respectful around here please? Not all people rip their DVDs and steal media using torrents. In fact many people get their digital movies legitimate way. Former iP users are not searching for ways to get vids without iTunes. Not everyone is a freaking experienced pirate or a DVD ripper. Chill.
     
  22. getDange

    getDange Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    252
    29
    43
    Well my reply was more of a joke - everyone was talking about HD movies and then you says "DVD" so I corrected you "Bluray".
    To answer this question - I have not ripped any disk in like 5 years.
     
  23. getDange

    getDange Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    252
    29
    43
    My TV is a huge screen 1080P, I would not use any non-HD cable to connect anything to it, do not want to shock myself with bad quality on this large screen.
    I would suggest that micro USB to HDMI cable from Samsung, or even better, use the DLNA feature of the phone, if you have a DLNA receiver any where (most modern TVs have it, then some TV-connected media players have it, and HTPCs).
     

Share This Page

Loading...