1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

just rooted 2.1 & memory dropped??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by starsnlaughter, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. starsnlaughter

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    retail
    michigan, usa
    All ive done so far is remove nfl (imma girl ;) ), stocks, nascar & twitter.. it was 135mb before rooting. Now its only 108. Is that normal?

    Sorry if this is a repost but none of the suggested threads seemed to cover this.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    are you using the stock Tom or a custom one?
     
  3. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    how did you remove those apps?
     
  4. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    Please refer to the guide/faq. I believe FAQ #19 answers your question.
     
  5. starsnlaughter

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    retail
    michigan, usa
    Joehunni.. :) i'm still using the stock rom. i work nearly full-time and have a 1-year old.. i rarely even find time to do anything with my phone, let alone make phone calls, so i mainly just wanted to remove the apps i wasn't using.

    Lozer_Kid: i removed them using some guide via adb shell. worked perfectly. no errors or anything. =) i can't find which site i used. i think my brother-in-law erased my browser history from this morning.

    ccapasso.. I looked at FAQ #19 and am not sure how that answers why I have less memory now than I did before I removed the apps via the adb method that #19 refers to.

    Somewhere, on one of the sites, I remember seeing something of where they had to do something for the phone to reflect the saved storage. i thought just re-booting, but i tried that and it didn't change the memory # at all under Settings > SD & Phone Storage at all.
     
  6. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Ok, you sure you don't need to just delete cache or something, go under settings > applications > manage applications, once it's all loaded up hit menu and then the sort option. This will arrange it so that your biggest apps are listed in descending order, just click on them and then clear cache.
     
  7. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    If that doesn't take care of it, just root then flash a rom like darchdroid or froyo, then you'll have gobs of free memory regardless lol.
     
    starsnlaughter likes this.
  8. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163

    I wasn't referring to you. I quoted Lozer_kid and sent him that way.
     
  9. starsnlaughter

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    retail
    michigan, usa

    I'll consider flashing Froyo.. hearing a LOT of opportunities with froyo.. but until then, I had cleared my caches and it removed my bookmarks, i had to re-sign in to a few of my applications & re-grant permissions from my gmail log-in for location preferences. I hope I don't have to do that frequently!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...