1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root just rooted

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by phil99, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    Hello ive just rooted my phone and put on leedroid version 3.0.7, which im happy with, i have also found a zip file called update which i put on too, does anyone know what this update zip is.
    I have also removed ROM manager as shown on the sticky.

    What else should i do
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,563
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,563
    14,702
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    "update.zip" could be anything, but if you didn't put it there my guess would be that ROM Manager did (possibly it's the fake flash clockworkmod that RM uses?). Ignore or delete it - I'd not advise flashing things when you don't know what they are.

    Otherwise, just have a play and see what's different - it sounds like you've installed the ROM update just fine.
     
  3. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    thanks very much, I did have a few more question but the FAQ section helped me out.

    One more then, Ive ordered a new SD card 16gb and will use partition magic so i canuse it with apps2sd. What do i have to do to transfer all my stuff, will it just be copy old sd card to computer or is there more to it
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,563
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,563
    14,702
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I don't know Partition Magic, but we generally recommend GPartEd for partitioning - ext3 is a linux filesystem format (which Windows does not understand), and GPartEd is a linux tool, so it's the most reliable way. There's a step-by-step guide to doing this and installing a2sd+ in the Root Memory FAQ.

    As for your data, it depends whether you are already using a2sd+ or not. If not, then you just copy the old card to the computer, partition the new card, copy data back onto it, and then follow the FAQ. If you are already using a2sd+ the simplest way would be to take a nandroid, copy everything off the old card (including the nandroid), partition the new card, copy everything back onto the new card (again, including the nandroid), boot into recovery and restore from the nandroid - that will copy the contents of your old card's ext partition onto the new one (whereas a PC cannot see the ext partition on a card, so can't copy directly).
     
    phil99 likes this.
  5. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    i have formatted the new card and partitioned it, i have left 1gb for apps2sd using ext3. I did a backup on nandroid, copied everything from my old card to new card.
    Inserted new card to phone and went to restore and keep getting an error message, Error while formatting DATA:!
     
  6. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    now its saying cant mount /sd-ext/!

    Any ideas
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    What did you use to partition the card?
     
  8. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    i used partition magic 6, which i used before and it worked fine
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Its not something I would trust tbh. I only recommend Gparted as its a linux based partitioner, partitioning Linux partitions (Ext). Many windows applications cant handle it and have a higher failure rate. Not to say sometimes it wont be successful though.

    The highest failure rate I have seen is with minitool partition wizard. The lowest on windows is Easeus, but Gparted is still much lower than that as this is precisely what it is designed to do.

    Also, if you do use gparted to fix this, do not flash the zip align zip from Leedropid as it is not required and will break the partition.

    Hope this helps somewhat
     
  10. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    cant fet gparted to work at all. i have done the image and burnt it to disk, tried to boot from disc and it say no operating system what am i doing wrong
     
  11. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    If you did burn correctly as an iso file image (what software did you use?), then you only need to make sure that you PC boots the CD drive first and only then from HDD (you can make sure this in BIOS settings).
     
  12. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    Thanks for the help i had a problem with the disk so i downloaded ashampoo and burnt it with that, and its seems to have worked fine. Just need to try and restore and then change from leedroid 3.0.7 to 3.0.8.2

    Thanks again for all the help
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...