1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

K-9 Mail Problems

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by keithyboy, May 10, 2012.

  1. keithyboy

    keithyboy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    5
    0
    25
    I'm having some difficulties setting up k-9 mail.

    For incoming mail it's fine but I can't get my outgoing mail working. I've tried doing it automatically with it finding the settings itself and copying the details across from the android mail thing and neither works.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    What mail provider are you trying to connect with?

    Outgoing is usually smtp.(mail provider name i.e Comcast).net (or .com)

    Depending on the mail provider you may have to manually change the port number.

    Are you accessing this email via a PC? If so then try comparing email setting to your phone's setting.
     
    keithyboy likes this.
  3. LawrenceCooper

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I don't need know what happened, but now when ever i click on an email in one of my folders, it opens in compose mode instead of read mode.

    I can't find any settings that addresses this issue. How do i disable this?
     
  4. keithyboy

    keithyboy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    5
    0
    25
    Manually changing the port number to what Virgin said it should be did the trick and I've now got incoming and outgoing.

    Cheers.
     
  5. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    Good. Glad you were able to get it working.
     

Share This Page

Loading...