1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General k its back in the box

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RoboMonkey, May 10, 2011.

  1. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
    Its super flakey 3G is driving me crazy so I've fired back up the old evo for now.
    I live in Sprint home town and have never had these issues on my evo.

    I need the 3G to tether my iPad at work ( 4g does not work in the building).
     

    Advertisement

  2. OldRoman

    OldRoman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    67
    11
    18
    Security Officer
    Wichita, KS
    I'm seriously thinking about doing the same thing. Where I was getting strong 3G with my EVO I'm getting just 1x. I use WiFi at home and never lost a signal with the EVO (I'm about 15' from my router and it's mounted on the wall with no obstructions between me and it) but I keep losing the signal. I got mine last Friday so I'll wait at least til this Friday before I return it. It seems like between me and the Nexus brand theres a jinx. I bought the Nexus One but returned it before the month was out. It was set up for T-Mobile and the signal reception was dismal. I was hoping this one would be different but so far it isn't. I'll happily go back to my rooted EVO.
     
  3. ~Cha~

    ~Cha~ Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    63
    6
    36
    Animator/Graphic Designer
    Puerto Rico
    sorry to hear about that :(

    i havent had that issue tho.. i actually find that my 3G signal is stronger on this phone than on my Moment. Dunno... I'll have to walk around with my EVO to check out the signal difference...
     
  4. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    -65 here with full signal on both 3g and wimax..
     
  5. dark4181

    dark4181 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    158
    28
    63
    Southeast, USA
    I get a lot of signal attenuation on mine, especially with 3g. It ranges from -76db on desk to -96db in hand. In hand I'm just holding it, not doing the death grip. I've got a case arriving today, so we'll see if that helps matters
     
  6. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    853
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    853
    110
    103
    behind you
    That is a big factor for me. I already barely have signal in my house and around town with the evo, so i dont want to make matters worse.
     
  7. ~Cha~

    ~Cha~ Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    63
    6
    36
    Animator/Graphic Designer
    Puerto Rico
    If its a "bad service in my house" issue (the 3g reception that is) i highly recommend calling customer service and signing up to receive the airave. I will put myself out on a limb and basically swear on this little box. It really does work. But if your issue is outside your house on a daily basis during your day to day musings then (sadly for sprint) you might want to look into a different service provider.
     
  8. dyeLucky

    dyeLucky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    84
    8
    46
    Male
    Senior Systems Technician w/ US Cellular
    in the tech world!
    I called Sprint last night and chatted w/ a live rep with Samsung and they have heard of no known issues yet...they better get on the ball or i'll be returning the device.
     
  9. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
    ive been on my evo all day and no issues, so it must be the nexus. I do get more bars on my evo.
     
  10. boteman

    boteman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010

    Get on the ball with what??? A new phone doesn't magically build a cell site outside your house. If you're in a poor coverage area, you will have low signal quality with any phone.

    To the guy with -76dBm, that's not bad at all. Can you conduct complete phone calls or is it dropping calls? Is there a high bit-error rate that chews up your words? That's the test.

    The bars on the phone can be made to display anything, so don't go by that.
     
  11. dark4181

    dark4181 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    158
    28
    63
    Southeast, USA
    -76 is sitting on my desk, not touching it at all. As soon as I pick the phone up it goes to -96
     
  12. lopezpm

    lopezpm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    218
    26
    43
    Garden City, MI
    I'm getting really weak 3g coverage with it compared to my EVO, but no way I'm taking it back. The EVO was really weak at first too, so a little update and it'll be fixed.
     
  13. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
    It's in the box I'm not taking it back yet.
     
  14. viber

    viber Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    521
    178
    93
    USA Army
    I don't have any 3G issues to report after a few days of use.
     
  15. nackles

    nackles Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    I have had mine since the 8th and I haven't noticed anything different about the 3g (coming from an epic). My wife still has an Evo, so I will have to start paying attention to see if I notice a difference.
     
  16. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
    Well don't forget I run with the hotspot on at work for my iPad and the 3g is up down up down and when it's up its super slow. I ran all day on my EVO again today with zero issues at work.

    It has to be the Nexus. I could try setting up super user on the phone and installing wireless tether and see if it's just the internal hotspot app causing my issues.
     
  17. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
    One more strange thing I noticed when the hotspot feature is running, I can not run SpeedTest from the phone.

    Edit:
    Did some more testing with the phone. I had my wife’s Epic and the nexus side by side and she was getting a 4g signal while the nexus was not. The Epic would get 3bars and the Nexus would drop out of 3g down to 1x.

    This one is not a big issue, but I also ran quadrant and her fps were like 54 and mine were like 22 but the end result was my final score was in the 1300s and hers as in the 900s. Still the Epic would finish the test like 40 seconds b4 the Nexus.

    One more thing even next to the Epic the Nexus colors have a green hue.

    I'm taking the phone back tomorrow or Friday.
     
  18. OldRoman

    OldRoman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    67
    11
    18
    Security Officer
    Wichita, KS
    Well, I will taking mine back tomorrow. I think mine is defective. Today I found it was overheating badly. I didn't have any apps open open that I normally don't have open. The battery had gone from 67% to 29% at the time I noticed the overheating (I mean it was HOT!) Before that I would have no data connection numerous times at all. So, I'll go do a exchange and see if that makes a difference.
     
  19. shawheim_a

    shawheim_a Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    549
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    549
    207
    93
    well if any of you that are second guessing want to get rid of your Nexus S, i got 350 bucks waiting on you.
     
  20. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
    took mine back today...grrrrrr
     
  21. OldRoman

    OldRoman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    67
    11
    18
    Security Officer
    Wichita, KS
    I took mine back also. But I just exchanged it. The new one acts completely different. Everything appears to work great (knock on wood) at this time signal wise. So, I'll stick with the NS4G for now. Hopefully Google/Samsung will come up with a fix for the signal trouble we've been having in the near future.
     
  22. texas83

    texas83 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    47
    0
    15
    Is a higher db or lower db better? I am at 86 db sitting in my office. and I am getting dropped wifi signal at my house too, but that wasn't the case with my htc hero. Have the people who exchanged the phone had luck with the exchanges?
     
  23. RadioZero

    RadioZero Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    43
    7
    16
    signal strength is at -96 dBm at my house which according to Sprint's coverage map, my house is in their "excellent coverage" area. all i get is 1 bar of signal and 3G service but according to Sprint's coverage map, i should be getting 4G inside my house (dark blue on their coverage map).

    i switched to Sprint from Verizon, i love the phone so far but i do not like Sprint's coverage. i switched based on their online coverage maps and it's not working out for me.
     
  24. KoukiFC3S

    KoukiFC3S Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    881
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009

    Aug 9, 2009
    881
    85
    78
    CA
    My Nexus is doing good. -76db at my house and my EVO is getting -80.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...