1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Keep "Capacitive Buttons" Lit

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by YaBoiD, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    390
    115
    88
    Lauderdale, FL
    ...the option is in "Sound & Display" option then select "Keyboard Timeout". The keyboard backlight & capacitive buttons seem to be tied together. Hope this info is helpful. Enjoy you Epic guys!:D
     

    Advertisement

    CrozB and drexappeal like this.
  2. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Thanks for this info. I was wondering about this and will be important for the person I'll be getting the phone for.

    I wonder if this would make the battery drain that much quicker or if the effects would be minimal.
     
  3. Droidone

    Droidone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    595
    118
    93
    I learned this from engadgets site when they asked samsung about the issue with the light not staying lit and being unresponsive
     
  4. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,493
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    probably pretty minimal. i plan on setting mine to match the screen, so 30secs. no need for them to be on allllll the time lol because when you light up the screen they turn on
     
  5. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    If you set for a 30 second shutoff, do the lights on the buttons turn off while you're actually doing something (e.g. texting or surfing the net).

    Reason I'm asking this is, this was one of my main annoyances with the Touch Pro. The backlight for the keyboard would turn off (based on my backlight settings) even if I was in the middle of typing in a URL or texting or sending an email. I'd much rather the backlight stay lit on the keyboard and the capacitive buttons until I put the phone on standby.
     
  6. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    yep, was the very first setting i changed.
     
  7. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Thanks!! That's been bugging me!!
     
  8. DaveyJ

    DaveyJ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    so i don't kill battery.. i keep the default setting and use the camera shutter button to re-light them when needed
     
  9. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Why don't you just tap in that area when you need them lit?
     
  10. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    390
    115
    88
    Lauderdale, FL
    Because you'll be double tapping all the time...
     
  11. dr.pepper1

    dr.pepper1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    50
    7
    16
    California
    FWIW, I thought the short default lit time would bug me, but I haven't really had a problem with it. I more or less know where the buttons are and I usually am able to push them on the first try. They are pushable even when they aren't lit. So I haven't even bothered to increase the time that they stay lit.
     
  12. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN

    Hmm. I didn't have that problem. That's why I suggested it. That's how I was doing it until I saw this thread. Tapping it lightly once just lit the buttons up. You can feel when you have activated one of the buttons..
     
  13. drbunda

    drbunda Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    53
    3
    16
    Hmmm...when I go to Keyboard Timeout my only options are to set time limits (3, 6, 15 seconds) or "same as screen timeout" - even with the "same as screen" it turns off when the screen is still lit after a while.

    Thoughts?

    It's not bugging me too much because like everyone said, you can just tap on it lightly to get it to come back on and you learn where all the buttons are, but it would be helpful to have them stay lit.

    Thanks!
     
  14. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Yup. I put it to same as screen (which is set to 10 minutes), but the light for the buttons shuts off way before that. But like you also said, I didn't realize you could just tap on that area (without activating one of the buttons mistakingly), so that solved that issue.
     
  15. gme109

    gme109 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    535
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    535
    46
    68
    Male
    When my screen times out, the screen becomes locked, and I have to hit the power button, and slide to unlock,. very annoying. Is there a way around having to do that?
     
  16. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    390
    115
    88
    Lauderdale, FL
    CrozB and gme109 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...