1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Keeping root with OTA

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gdroid12, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. gdroid12

    gdroid12 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Now that I have rooted, how do I keep it with the OTA being pushed out. Will/can Verizon do a force install? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. VIO

    VIO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    263
    62
    53
    depends on what ROM you have installed. most custom ones disable OTA's

    The OTA will ask your permission before doing it.

    You can also manually disable the OTA by renaming the OTAcerts file to something else.
     
  3. gdroid12

    gdroid12 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks for the info. I have Sapphire 1.0 so I will look on that site for OTA info. I think I read in another forum that renaming the cert file causes battery drain because the phone keeps looking for it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...