1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [KERNEL] Franco Kernel Discussion (r68)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rxpert83, Nov 13, 2013.

  1. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,143
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Voltage adjustments are inside CPU manager within the app
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,143
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Hook likes this.
  3. Hunter5

    Hunter5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    373
    95
    53
    Male
    Lowe's Store Mgr
    Orlando, FL
    OK, installed Franco Updater and can know adjust my voltages however they do not stick after reboot. Is this normal or am I missing something?
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,143
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Press and hold voltage control to make them stick on reboot. The app should have walked you through that when you first opened it
    [​IMG]

    In other news...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Mostly browsing tapatalk and newsstand, but I had some streaming audio with the screen off in there as well
     
  5. Hunter5

    Hunter5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    373
    95
    53
    Male
    Lowe's Store Mgr
    Orlando, FL
    Well here's my first day with Cataclysm ROM and Franco kernel -50 undervoltage. :D
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,143
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Did it even cone out of your pocket? :p;)
     
  7. Hunter5

    Hunter5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    Oct 3, 2012
    373
    95
    53
    Male
    Lowe's Store Mgr
    Orlando, FL
    Ha! Not much, was at work, just texts, emails for the must part but I'm still happy knowing that I've got plenty of battery when I need it. I also didn't realize that Google services and locations were on, I normally have those turned off.
     
  8. MotoTriumphant

    MotoTriumphant Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    655
    Joined:
    May 12, 2012

    May 12, 2012
    655
    53
    78
    Does the r14 come pre-underVolted?
     
  9. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,143
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Nope. If you want to change voltages you'll likely want an app to do it
     
    MotoTriumphant likes this.
  10. Ranhead

    Ranhead Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    335
    70
    53
    Jersey
    I don
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  11. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,143
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Its generally bad practice to set different profiles for screen off/etc because most kernels already have this hard coded a certain way by the dev. Adding in more profiles from the app can cause conflicts.
     
    Ranhead likes this.
  12. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Franco dropped r15 today. Looks like it killed my root, but nothing that I couldn't fix w/ a simple root .zip flash.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  13. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,143
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Mine did funny things too. I still HAD root, but apps kept requesting it over and over. :thinking: :dontknow:

    Forgetting SU permissions and then rebooting seems to have fixed it
     
  14. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,143
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Went back to r14.

    R15 is being way too jumpy with the cpu when the phone isn't even doing anything.
     
    Hook likes this.
  15. Ranhead

    Ranhead Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    335
    70
    53
    Jersey
    Note to self: Use the Franco app's backup feature.....:rolleyes:
     
  16. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    651
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    And wait to read here before updaing. ;) Still rockin' r14. :D
     
  17. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,143
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    They're all available here as well:
    http://192.241.177.15/Nexus5/4.4/zips/

    He also pushed an r16 test kernel that people are reporting much better results with.

    It'll be here:
    http://192.241.177.15/Nexus5/4.4/

    In the tests folder. To flash boot.imgs you'll likely want to do that through fastboot

    Maybe I can get a how to written for that tomorrow
     
    Hook likes this.
  18. Ranhead

    Ranhead Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    335
    70
    53
    Jersey

    Thanks bud.
    I had already done it manually before I posted. I should have said so, but I
     
  19. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Wouldn't it be your typical fastboot flash boot boot.img?
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  20. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,143
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Yes :thumbup:

    I don't want to assume everyone knows how to do it though :eek:. I guess we could always point people to the rooting guide, but a general guide on how to flash things through fastboot with the different options might be helpful to those new to nexus- or new to even having a proper user accessible bootloader

    I had a PM the other day asking how to restore manually from the factory image, so there's useful information we've overlooked on sharing that isnt easy to find on the site yet.
     
    DMajor239 and NYCHitman1 like this.
  21. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    As for the kernel, Franco pushed r16 to public just a little while ago. It fixes the cpu scaling issue from r15.

    I definitely agree with you. It would be good knowledge for any and everyone to learn the fastboot commands. Could definitely turn a sticky situation into one with a positive outcome.
     
    DMajor239 and Rxpert83 like this.
  22. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    651
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    Wow, XDA is a scary place. ;)

    I checked Franco's thread and people seemed to be saying good things about r16 (I think-- I never can figure out what they are talking about most of the time :D), so I download the zip using FU, I go to flash it, it fails, so I refresh the forum and Franco says he just uploaded a new zip that will install, posted since I looked a few minutes before. I download it manually and flash it and it works.

    I love XDA. It always makes me feel like I got a very complete user's manual in a language I don't know. However, I haven't blown up anything... yet... :p :thumbup:

    And I now have r16 working great.
     
    NYCHitman1 and Rxpert83 like this.
  23. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,143
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I tend to go there just long enough to view if there's a new update to my ROM or kernel, and make sure there isn't anything new I'm missing thats groundbreaking ;)
     
  24. Lettuce

    Lettuce Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    106
    21
    58
    Male
    Lincoln, UK
    Yeh the XDA thread is a strange place. I read all the comments about people being unable to install r16 from recovery so I did it the fastboot way (reboot to bootloader, USB cable, open up a command, fastboot flash boot boot.img) without any hiccups.

    I did a fresh reboot this morning at 100% battery so today is my test day, let's see how long this battery lasts for. Actually even before rooting and changing kernels I was very happy with my N5's battery performance so this will be interesting.

    First time ever changing kernels and it was easy as pie. I haven't changed any CPU settings or altered anything via Franco's app - need more time to read/learn about that.

    So, currently rooted with stock ROM, Franco Kernel r16 and about 25 things frozen via Titanium. Device feels positively snappy, but this could just be placebo.

    Watch this space.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  25. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,850
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,850
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    R16 is amazing. I have almost 1hr screen on time, some of it Clash of Clans, the rest being Tapatalk and gReader and I couldn't be happier. R15 was good on battery but I had the frequency spiking issue. R16 fixed this! Go flash!
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...