1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Kernel][Sense][HDMwIn]Evo 4g Freedom-v0.9.5 Kernel GB MR 2.6.35.10 - xda-developers

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by frenchy714, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    (First and foremost I take no credit for this Dev's work)

    I know this kernel has been mentioned in another thread but I think it deserves its' own. Lithid is an upcoming Dev and this is his first attempt at developing kernels....So far I believe he's doing a GREAT job! I suggest everyone to atleast give this a try.


    v0.9

    Added HDMwIn port
    Lowered Less, More, and Aggressive voltages by 25
    Added TUN to kernel
    Removed call recording
    Tweaked the voltages for OC frequencies
    Compass updates (barnacles10)


    Currently v0.8.5 has:

    InteractiveX governor
    Smartass governor
    Powersave governor
    Overclocked to 1.19GHz
    Underclock to 128 Mhz
    Perflock Disabled
    Voltage tweaks
    Voice call recording
    Audio tweaks, make volume slightly louder
    Reserved 5MB of memory for gpu

    Add support for voice call recording
    Audio tweaks, make volume slightly louder
    Reserved 5MB of memory for gpu
    Active smartass governor tweaks
    Dropped voltages about 50 per frequency
    Changed cpu speed at boot time to 768Mhz
    Allowed 128Mhz underclock.
    Changed max uv to 1300000 was at 1350000
    Various updates to build enviroment for stablity.

    To view change log go here.


    If you'd like to check his thread out:


    [Kernel][Sense]Evo 4g Freedom-v0.5 Kernel GB MR 2.6.35.10 - xda-developers

    Like always, if you like the Dev's work, please DONATE!
     

    Advertisement

    Granite1, ocnbrze and Xtremedays like this.
  2. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Flashed v0.1 with no issues. Going to download this and flash it shortly.
     
  3. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Get on it Xtreme because with his current version you can over/underclock as well.
     
  4. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    LOL! I haven't OCed my phone since before going to CM7 based roms! Never needed it after switching as fast as they were.
     
  5. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Flashed and got bootlooped. Nandroiding back right now. Might try again with the next version.
     
  6. esthernrob

    esthernrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    646
    347
    133
    i deliver the nectar of the gods, BEER!
    Upstate, NY
    flashed this a few hours ago and so far so good... only thing that i've noticed so far is that using setcpu, using smartass governor, my max is stuck @ 245... the slider works fine, up to 119, but clock speed never changes from 245... performance governor seems to be working ok... screen off @ a min / max of 245 is working also... ran the battery calibration app found HERE... going to do my best to keep my hands off the darn thing today, take it for a test drive tomorrow @ work and hope for the best...
     
  7. esthernrob

    esthernrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    646
    347
    133
    i deliver the nectar of the gods, BEER!
    Upstate, NY
    ok, so here's my findings so far... not spectacular but not bad either... an SBC kernel would be awesome...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    now i have screen brightness turned all the way up, all sounds on, haptic feed back on everything...
    setcpu min 245 - max 119 - smartass
    screen off profile min 245 - max 245 - smartass
     
  8. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    v0.4 is out now. Flashed it this afternoon and got looped again. Doesn't get to boot animation, just loops at the splash screen. Tried wiping cache and dalvik-cache again but got the same thing. GM works ok but no SA governor yet.
     
  9. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Updated OP to reflect changes in v0.4.
     
  10. vinniemac3

    vinniemac3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    165
    11
    38
    ok i have a question for the guru's on here. im running syn-king 7/22. should i run .04 nightly or .04 god mode?
     
  11. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    v0.4 Nightly.
     
    vinniemac3 likes this.
  12. vinniemac3

    vinniemac3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    165
    11
    38
    thanks once again frenchy
     
  13. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Updated OP to reflect v0.5.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  14. guitarboy2129

    guitarboy2129 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    84
    17
    18
    flashed and bootloop... well its not really a boot loop.. it will come up and run for a second and then reboot.. which leads me to believe the kernel sets the cpu too high from the get go... oh well hmm... any thoughts?
     
  15. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,003
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,003
    2,032
    693
    Male
    USA
    I tried this with Mik3D and it lagged badly. Flashed back to Golden monkey and Mik3D is smooth and snappier.
     
  16. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    It is likely just a compatibility issue with your phone. Since v.01 I have not been able to flash this kernel. It won't get past the splash screen for me. I had similar issues with Savage-Zen kernels on AOSP roms. Golden Monkey seems to work well for me but no SA governor yet and waiting for the SBC options :)

    The Kernel will not set CPU above the original max(998) without setCPU or something similar to command it higher so I doubt that has anything to do with the boot loop.
     
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    .6 is up!
     
  18. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    v0.8.5 is available for download here.
     
    Xtremedays likes this.
  19. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  20. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    YESS!!! HAVS kernels are starting to show up!
    Also I just found a 1900ma battery combo on amazon for $20. 2 batteries with a wall charger. It's the standard battery size so it'll fit with the original battery cover. ;)
     
  21. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    The agressive kernel undervolts even more than the "more" version of the kernel.
     
  22. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah i just flashed this. we will see how it handles
     
  23. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Seems responsive for me with less havs although my battery is dropping like a rock with the screen on. I probably need to give it some time to settle.
     
  24. kgee15

    kgee15 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    59
    5
    16
    Wow, I really want to try the aggressive freedom version, but am hesitant because of having to set up my phone from scratch all over again. I've talked to ocnbrze about this, but when you guys flash a new kernel, do you simply wipe cache/davlik and flash it and all is well after boot up? When I did this, a few of my apps were not linked (could not launch them from their icons) and my system cache was almost down to nothing which prevented me from installing new apps from the market or TB. This is when I flashed version 3 I believe.
     
  25. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no wiping of data is involved. you just wipe dalvik cache and cache. so go for it. on it now. hard to say the difference yet as i just flash this a few hours ago. will have to see what tomorrow brings.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...