1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [KERNEL]SpeedDemon V5.6 (Performance & Battery Improvements) - MIUI Kernel

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Austrie, Nov 13, 2011.

  1. bing7625

    bing7625 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    152
    27
    43
    voltages should be determined by the user. as it has been said each processor is different because of the imperfect process of making them, so each person should test different voltages and determine what works best with their phone as what works best for others may not work best on yours.

    edit: if you look at my table i think it's on page 2 i have been running certain UV settings and my phone hasn't had any problems in.... a little over 51 hours now... and is still running strong.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    213
    Being a pain in the a$$! LOL
    Chambersburg, Pa
    cool... im just not very familiar with undervolting so i needed somewhere to start out. :D
     
  3. munkymedic

    munkymedic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    92
    6
    16
  4. bing7625

    bing7625 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    152
    27
    43
    Actually check out my table on this page in the screenshots I posted above. And I would probably start 50 higher than what I use and start from there

    @munky its incredicontrol
     
  5. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Why not start from -25(or -50) from each stock frequency, and keep on going lower after each testing till you find something right for the user.

    The stock voltage for 24Mhz to 368Mhz is 900 volts right?
     
  6. munkymedic

    munkymedic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    92
    6
    16
    What happens if you undervolt too far? Reboot?
     
  7. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Either reboot or bootloop, depends how low.

    Edit: I made my own table

    Code (Text):
    1. 24576,  (800)
    2. 61440,    (800)
    3. 122880,  (850)
    4. 184320,  (850)
    5. 245760,  (850)
    6. 368640,  (850)
    7. 460800,  (900)    
    8. 576000,  (950)    
    9. 652800,  (1000)
    10. 768000,  (1000)
    11. 806400,   (1075)
    12. 921600,   (1125)
    13. 1024000, (1125)
    14. 1113000, (1150)
    15. 1209600, (1200)
    16. 1305600, (1225)
    17. 1401600, (1225)
    18. 1516800, (1275)
    19. 1612800, (1275)
    20. 1708800, (1350)
    21. 1804800, (1375)
    22. 1900800, (1450)
    23. 2016000, (1500)
     
  8. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Adding V2.7 changes to main post...
     
  9. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA
    installed v2.7 and wifi gets error
     
  10. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    You notice that to, I just got MIUI and I saw I cant wifi tether, I was thinking 'WTF?!?!'. So it might be my kernel instead, hmm...
     
  11. showson1

    showson1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    19
    1
    16
    I've been experimenting with my phone.
    With Bing's suggestions above.. my phone completely locked up to the point of a battery pull (happened 3 times).
    I've tried several other settings.. some have worked, some caused reboots.
    Fortunately I haven't gotten any bootloops yet.

    I'm trying Austrie's settings now.

    If you mess with the voltages just don't 'Set on boot' until you're sure they work for you.
     
  12. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    I think I know what's breaking WiFi...
     
  13. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA

    What was it?
     
  14. bing7625

    bing7625 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    152
    27
    43
    is wifi broken or something with this kernel, or is it just wifi tether? i don't want to flash it if regular wifi doesn't work. i really don't care about wifi tether.
     
  15. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    I'll tell you why it breaks wifi, its the slub memory allocator. Trust me, it did it on mine and pwn's kernel. Switch back to slab because slub and slob both break wifi for some really odd reason. I am trying to add the slqb allocator and see if it works but there aint no promise. But that is why wifi is broke!!!
     
  16. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    I was wonder what was breaking WiFi, then it pop in my head, what I had read in pwn's thread. He had switch to slub and it broke his WiFi. I'll be fixing it in a later.
     
  17. bing7625

    bing7625 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    152
    27
    43
    if anyone is scared about the 30mb sacrifice on the new build that is out. what i would do is use zeam launcher from the market. it is very lightweight and keeps all the theming from MIUI theme manager and from what i'm seeing runs extremely smooth, granted i'm still using v1.8 because i need my wifi. but i must say zeam keeps all the beauty of MIUI and adds a couple extra little tricks without being any type of huge burden on memory which i noticed after a couple days of use by the standard launcher really puts a damper on my resources. zeam DOES have an app drawer, but the icon can be removed and you can use the launcher just like regular MIUI's. one thing it lacks is the 3d widget adding view, but adds things like scrollable dock and wallpaper looping so you can continuously scroll one way on your wallpaper and always comeback around in a loop, and home screen row and column resizing (i have mine set to 5x5.) like i said it freed up a decent amount of resources when switching to this instead of MIUI's launcher, but what works best for one may not work best for others.

    edit: actually it uses about the same resources, but i'm loving the extras that are in it, and like i said all the beauty of MIUI is still there like the popup messages and such.
     
  18. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA

    So hows miui you like it?
     
  19. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    It looks beasty looking on phone, kinda laggy, but that's probably because of me restoring apps, and not installing them one by one. The screenshots Isaac post dont even compare, I have notice that previews/screenshots of stuff, like MIUI themes, looks sad but it looks beasty on the phone.

    I am increasing the USB charge speed from 2mA to around 500mA per (seconds I think), to make faster USB charging.
     
  20. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA

    Did you try launcher pro? I noticed miui lags with certain launchers and the best governors to not lag are smartassv2 and performance I stick with smartassv2
     
  21. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    I kind of like MIUI launcher, I just group my apps in different screens, games in one windows, system stuff in another, misc. stuff in another. I think it lags because of the restoring instead of installing, I get force closes time to time. Im focusing on saving battery, while still not allowing it to get laggy. If I didn't have so much apps, I would just market install instead.

    With the new faster usb charging, it cuts down charging time by A LOT.
     
  22. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Links are up!
     
  23. bing7625

    bing7625 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    152
    27
    43
    does it still trickle charge from 90-100 to ensure a "true" full 100% charge? cuz wouldn't the increase in battery draw "burn" the battery up quicker, not in daily life, but in the life of the battery itself?

    and can't we just flash the kernel and after flashing just recalibrate battery in CWM and reboot? just making sure the phone was charged to 100% when the flash process begun? then run the battery down til it shuts off and recharge to 100% and be good?
     
  24. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Using a app is easier, but other that, fully charge your battery, wipe battery stats in recovery, reboot to system, drain battery, charge it fully with phone off, drain it again, and then charge it fully with phone off. For people who don't know, this process helps with saving battery, by making your battery life more accurate.

    Bing, it's not drawing more from battery it's drawing mA's when charging via USB, but there is a chance of burning up total life. You can do more research on it though.
     
  25. zachavm

    zachavm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011

    Jul 31, 2011
    272
    51
    53
    I like to charge every night while I sleep. Will this be a problem with 3.0 since you added the charging change?
     

Share This Page

Loading...