1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Kernels - What do they do?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kimkgk, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. kimkgk

    kimkgk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    76
    3
    16
    Can someone discribe how or should you experiment with the various Kernels that are out there. I have the 10.1 Gtab running tnt. What advantage would I have to flashing a new Kernel and is it worth trying? What is the downside if any. Recommendations on the best to try? :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,166
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,166
    1,185
    333

    I have Clemsyns kernel installed on Vegan. I honestly didn't know what CIFS,VPN,PPOE....etc did but I installed it anyways because I liked the fact that the kernels are up to date to the latest Nvidia drivers. I figured if it's up to date then stability should increase. I haven't had any issues with installing the custom kernels so I guess when I figure out what all those acronymns do, then I should be good to go. :p

    I have two mods installed on my Gtab. The Clemsyn kernel and I disabled sync in sqlite3. You'll see the thread in XDA.

    With the disable sync, I noticed my quadrant scores went back up to 2500+ even with Clemsyns kernel which brought my quad scores to 2300+ after I installed it.

    Not really a big deal to me, but I did notice that my apps are launching much faster than before I did the disable sync tweak. Especially Dolphin HD.

    You can try these kernels and tweaks if you want but make sure you back your system up just in case you don't like the custom kernels.
     
    kimkgk likes this.
  3. kimkgk

    kimkgk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    76
    3
    16
    XMR40

    We use VPN at work to tie as lap top or remote computer to the main computer. Virtual Private Network. Don't know what that could be used for on the tablet. Tell me more about quad scores. What are they measuring and how do you go about doing that?
    Thanks for all your help by the way.
     
    xmr405o likes this.
  4. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    i am still running the stock kernel on VEGAn 5.1.1 (if it ain't broke, don't fix it) and got a quadrant score of 2500+ (see my sig). the program is here:

    Quadrant Standard

    it measures CPU, input/output, and 3d graphic performance and compares them, in graph format, with other devices.
     
    kimkgk and xmr405o like this.
  5. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,166
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,166
    1,185
    333
    Thanks kimkgk.

    Like what solid posted, quad scores show how well your particular device ranks with other devices when it comes to graphical processing. Some tweaks increase or decrease it's quad scores. Like custom kernels, I found that it decreases quad scores but enables other functions such as VPN, CIFS and the usage of gamepads. I offsetted that decrease by using the sqlite3 tweak.

    I'm starting to wonder how my quad scores would look if I remove the clemsyn kernel and just run the sqlite3 tweak. hmmmm. I remember getting similar scores as Solid prior to me adding clemsyns kernel.
     
    kimkgk likes this.
  6. kimkgk

    kimkgk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    76
    3
    16
    I tried the benchmarking. I first got a 2180. Then I used autokiller to shut down all of the background apps running - brouser Google app store- anything that was running and ran a 2285. Looks like vegan might score higher. Sure wipes out the other comparables.
     
  7. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,166
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,166
    1,185
    333
    Well Tnt lite is still based on the stock TnT base which could explain the lower quad scores. I re-ran my quad scores and I was hitting between 2500-2700 plus. I was gonna try to run the quad scores without Clemsyns kernel but I think I'm happy with it and I'm just gonna leave it alone.
     
    kimkgk likes this.
  8. kimkgk

    kimkgk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    76
    3
    16

    I re ran a few more times and was hitting 2350's. Any idea what the out of the box quad scores come in at? Unless a major ROM or Kernel pops up that everyone raves about I am leaving well enough alone.
     
  9. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    i never tested mine stock, but according to intomobile, it should be around 1800.
     
    xmr405o likes this.
  10. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,166
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,166
    1,185
    333
    Yup, 1800 was the stock scores. Which was actually really decent for such a crappy stock rom.
     
  11. kimkgk

    kimkgk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    76
    3
    16
    Weak......

    Says a lot for the processor and the Tegra.
     
  12. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,166
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,166
    1,185
    333
    It also says a lot about the custom rom makers. They really know how to optimize the android os. And some of these guys don't even work for computer companies.
     
  13. kimkgk

    kimkgk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    76
    3
    16
    Good point. Actually says a lot about open platforms and letting the creative dudes run wild.
     
  14. JayP54

    JayP54 Newbie
    Rank:
     #602
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    38
    2
    16

    I am running VEGAn 5.1.1 also but am getting scores of 1800-1900 with Quadrant Std. I ran it after a reboot as well as full restart and after running other apps and all the same. How can I figure out why I am not seeing this level of performance? Thanks.

    Jay
     
  15. kimkgk

    kimkgk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    76
    3
    16
    Maybe one of the pros will jump in but it seems like you are getting stock numbers so are you sure Vegan is installed properly? These guys are all getting 2500's with or without a custom Kernel. I loaded Z4Root first and then TNT but Vegan should root the device anyway I believe.
     
  16. JayP54

    JayP54 Newbie
    Rank:
     #602
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    38
    2
    16
    That is what i was thinking. It boots up with VEGAn start up screens after a Viewsonic screen first. Not sure if that means anything. I too thought that rooting was not needed as it "did it" when installed.

    Jay
     
  17. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,166
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,166
    1,185
    333
    Do you know what you scored on Vegan 5.1 prior to installing the supplement? Anyways, quadrant scores are one thing but do you notice lag when using your gtab such as launching apps, screen transitions, running graphically extensive games etc? If you don't, then I wouldn't worry too much about Quad scores. But of course, I know you're gonna worry anyways. haha. I'm just like you. :D

    I'm not sure how you installed Vegan but if you want to reinstall it and see if you get better scores than I would say go for it. Make sure if you reinstall Vegan you do the following...

    Perform a backup
    Wipe data/Factory reset- (You'll lose your apps though)
    Clear data cache-

    If you want, before installing the 5.1.1 supplement, run Quadrant and see if you get higher Quad scores.
     
  18. JayP54

    JayP54 Newbie
    Rank:
     #602
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    38
    2
    16
    Unfortunately I did not have Quadrant loaded before this. (I am fairly new to this). I thought I had installed it according to what was in the posts but I may have to start over. I am noticing lags with program start up etc. Just does not seem to "rock" like others are saying.
     
  19. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,166
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,166
    1,185
    333
    Yeah just reload it. You should at least see quad scores of 2200+
     
  20. JayP54

    JayP54 Newbie
    Rank:
     #602
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    38
    2
    16
    Ok. Something to do when I get home from work.
     
  21. JayP54

    JayP54 Newbie
    Rank:
     #602
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    38
    2
    16
    No change. Anyone with ideas?
     
  22. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,166
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,166
    1,185
    333
    So you did a wipe/factory reset and clear data cache? And no change? Wow.

    This is with or without the Vegan supplement?
     
  23. JayP54

    JayP54 Newbie
    Rank:
     #602
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    38
    2
    16
    yes and didn't really matter. Got one reading at 2450 then all the rest were 1800's. Even with restarting, etc.
     
  24. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,166
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,166
    1,185
    333
    Hmm, that's odd. It might be the Quad app. I wonder what apps were running while you ran Quadrant.
     
  25. JayP54

    JayP54 Newbie
    Rank:
     #602
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    38
    2
    16
    I used Advanced Task Killer to close all. Also tried Quad after a reboot and cold restart.
     

Share This Page

Loading...