• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps KickStarter - Mobile Android Development: Beginner to Professional

Shuy3n

Lurker
Oct 15, 2012
Hey Guys and Gals thought I'd share this Kickstarter project that's trying to get funded.

goo.gl/9bA0b <- Link to KickStarter Page, sorry about the extra work due to Phandroids Anti Spam Measures

As society becomes more and more mobile, a huge demand is opening up for developers with the skills needed to create professional Android apps. Companies are paying big bucks to get their products and services to users on-the-go. But if you've never programmed before or have programmed before but not with Android, wouldn't it be great to have all the information you need to go from a complete beginner to a professional possessing these highly prized skills? And not just a series of tutorials, but a complete course with exercises and tests, through which you will write several of your own professional demo apps to show off to potential employers? That's what I want to create!

There are tons of resources for learning Android, but few of them are really practical, and they often spend so much time going over every optional variation or parameter that readers wind up skimming, often missing what's important. I want to create a course book with a companion website that teaches each required skill from beginner to professional, through practical, interesting exercises.

Some of the topics I'm planning to cover:

- Familiarization with Java programming
- Familiarization with XML
- Setting up a development environment
- Familiarization with the Android SDK
- Troubleshooting and Debugging strategies
- Memory and Battery management strategies
- Backwards compatibility
- Utilizing locational data and Google maps (build a geolocation demo)
- Linking with online web services and databases (build an interactive demo)
- Using the accelerometer (build a multi-user "bump" demo)