1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support KIES? Can not update via it?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Edtek, Jul 30, 2012.

  1. Edtek

    Edtek Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Male
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    I get a message in KIES that my device can not be updated via the software, which I find odd.

    Does it update OTA? Or is there a specific driver I have to use?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Edtek

    Edtek Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Male
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    http://ihtek.com/kies.png

    I have tried under Windoes 7 x64, Windows XP, and Windows Vista. I'm plugged directly into the back ports on the towers.

    Anyone know how to solve this?

    Could it be that Rogers has locked this device to updates as well?
     
  3. Jesslynh

    Jesslynh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    71
    12
    18
    I did EVERYTHING I could to get Kies to work--I even contacted the (horrible) Samsung Support folks. Luckily, you can OTA update.

    Go to Settings>About Device> Software Update and you'll be fine. That's what I did, but at work that sucker took forever! Next time I'll do it at home where I have a faster connection.
     

Share This Page

Loading...