1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Kies not detecting phone for update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sam142000, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. sam142000

    sam142000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    107
    4
    56
    Student
    India
    I recently updates Kies software to the latest version.
    and now, under the firmware upgrade settings its not detecting my GS2.

    Please help

    Will searching for the older version and installing it help? I mean, will the old version detect the latest firmware upgrades?
     

    Advertisement

  2. slischyn

    slischyn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I updated yesterday to Kies 2.0.3.11082.152. I wouldn't see my phone anymore. So I went back to 2.0.11053_99. I can now see the phone again but it's a lot rougher to get it going
    Steve L.
     
  3. greggebhardt

    greggebhardt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    671
    56
    78
    Owner
    Jacksonville, FL
    When I first updated it did not see my SG2 either. I then used the driver/connection error tool in Kies and rebooted afterwards and not only did it recognize my SG2 but it also got my SG2 updated to 2.3.4!:D
     
  4. sam142000

    sam142000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    107
    4
    56
    Student
    India
    this idea didn't work for me!!
     
  5. slatyford

    slatyford Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    231
    34
    43
    Or me the software is crap
     
  6. sam142000

    sam142000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    107
    4
    56
    Student
    India
    but what can we do?
    i don't think there's an alternative to it.
     
  7. milgo

    milgo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    This below worked for me. if you've not already seen the post and tried it!

    Originally Posted by DavidWOT [​IMG]
    1. Turn on USB debug mode in my phone >settings>applications>development
    2. Connect the phone to computer via USB
    3. Allow Windows to load drivers
    4. Disconnect phone from USB
    5. Turn off phone's USB debug mode
    6. Reconnect USB between phone and computer
    7. Successfully connect with Kies via the USB

    The key here being: Have the phone in USB Debug mode when connecting to the computer to automatically load the drivers via the Windows Recognized New Hardware Wizard. Then disconnect and turn off the phone's USB Debug mode before reconnecting to the computer and Kies.

    Now I put the "[?]" in my subject line because I have the confidence level of approximately zero with Kies at this point, woindering if it will connect the next time [smile] Hope this helps! - David
     
  8. sam142000

    sam142000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    107
    4
    56
    Student
    India
    Sorry, but it didn't work for me!!

    Maybe you guys are not getting what my actual problem is, I'm saying that the 'Kies' software is detecting my phone but its name is not appearing under the Tools-> Firmware Upgrade settings.
     
  9. milgo

    milgo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Ah! I get you now. It's the same for me. My phones name is not displayed there either. Should it be?!
     
  10. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
    My guess is that it's not recognizing it under Device Manager on your PC either.

    This excellent post by hawker gives details of how to correct the latest round of Kies problems with the release of their new version:-

    http://androidforums.com/3254687-post172.html

    Hope it helps. :D
     
  11. sam142000

    sam142000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    107
    4
    56
    Student
    India
    Yes, It should.
     
  12. sam142000

    sam142000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    107
    4
    56
    Student
    India
    Please guys someone help me out.
    The post by hawker also didn't work for me.
     
  13. chrisatbucknel

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012

    Oct 14, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Some after market USB cables cause problems. I was having connectivity issues with Kies, but then I swapped the USB cable I was using and tried the original cable that came with my GS2 and my troubles were gone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...