1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Kies v2 and Europa new Firmware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by europadroid, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. europadroid

    europadroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    163
    16
    58
    Male
    UK
    Hi guys

    I have been waiting a firmware update via Kies to hopefully resolve the duplicate texts issue. However having plugged the phone in earlier today still no luck.

    BUT!, I noticed that the new v2 Kies (2.0.0.11011_16_5) is now available from Samsungapps.com. So I installed that and Kies immediately said that a firmware update was available. It updated me to firmware version
    PDA:JK3/PHONE:KA1/CSC:JK1 - I am not sure if this is good or bad? Now waiting to see if Text issue is solved ....

    Anyway, just for information :cool:
     

    Advertisement

    English Rose likes this.
  2. d.chatten

    d.chatten Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    104
    12
    38
    UK
    Thanks for letting us know, i hope this firmware update fixes the repeat text issues.
     
  3. Simonrcvangend

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I just did this updated. Have not noticed any change to phone. Still no froyo? Phones still says 2.1 + update 1
     
  4. miesc

    miesc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    37
    3
    16

    It's not a Froyo update just a updated version of Eclair to fix the text problem. Hopefully (legit) Froyo update will follow soon.
     
  5. TheMaskedBrit

    TheMaskedBrit Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    Updated the phone with this update on Saturday not had the repeated text problem since.

    Touch wood!
     
  6. europadroid

    europadroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    163
    16
    58
    Male
    UK
    Wooo, get in :D
     
  7. hertsmas

    hertsmas Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Lo guys , see my entry on another post but I got my phone yesterday on (O2) new , upgraded the firmware and no text problem.

    Cheers

    Mas
     
  8. Simonrcvangend

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    So does anyone actually know when we should get froyo legit ???
    O2 UK

    Also I have the latest version of kies installed but samsung are telling me to download new kies when i go to Samsung store???

    Please help
     
  9. Primrose

    Primrose Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I'm really struggling to get Kies to work. I installed the latest version (never installed it before) and plugged in my phone in, select Kies from the USB mode on the phone and see "Connecting..." indefinitely. If I select regular USB mode it gives me an error saying it needs Kies but then when I use Kies same problem.

    I've tried rebooting my computer, my phone, removing the microSD card from my phone, turning off and on debugging mode. I've also removed LauncherPro thinking that might have been causing the issue but no difference whatsoever. Can anyone tell me where I might be going wrong? I really want to solve this multiple text issue.
     
  10. TheMaskedBrit

    TheMaskedBrit Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    21
    1
    16
    I usally get kies up first, then plug in the phone never had a problem with it finding the phone.
     
  11. Primrose

    Primrose Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I've tried that and no difference. Just to be clear it knows there's a phone there as the "Connecting..." appears.

    [edit] Does anyone here use Windows 7 64bit? It seems that Samsung is stuck in the year 2000 and doesn't support 64-bit operating systems (according to their FAQ it won't work).

    [edit] I just dusted off an old laptop and it's indeed the case that it doesn't work if you have Windows 7 64-bit. It does work on Windows 7 32-bit fine.
     
  12. waylaid

    waylaid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    2
    2
    6
    Hi

    I've update Kies and gone through the process of updating the firmware but when it transfers it to my phone the phone hangs - the screen shows the Android character holding a shovel, in a yellow triangle with downloading... written underneath. I've tried twice and left it for up to an hour but it never goes beyond this screen and the phone is unresponsive.

    I have to take the battery out for a few seconds to clear. Phone works fine when turned on but still shows the older Firmware version.

    Anyone have any solutions?

    My computer is running Windows 7.

    Thanks
    Russell
     
    Primrose likes this.
  13. Primrose

    Primrose Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    After I got it working on Windows 7 32-bit I tried upgrading Android today and had exactly the same problem. I reproduced it twice before giving up. If I work something out I'll let you know and would appreciate the same :)
     
  14. waylaid

    waylaid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    2
    2
    6
    hi Primrose

    I've just got mine working ok. The problem seems to be that I hadn't mounted the SD card that the phone uses (settings - SD card, USB Mass Storage). After changing that it all went through smoothly. Hope this works for you.

    Russell


    BTW my version of Windows 7 is 64bit, when I installed the version of Kies linked to at the beginning of this thread it told me an even newer version was available, I installed that and it recognised my phone ok.
     
    Primrose likes this.
  15. Primrose

    Primrose Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Mmm, thanks for your reply. Unfortunately I already have the SD card mounted so that wasn't the cause of the problem for me.

    I tried installing the latest version (newer than the one linked to here, the one you updated to) but it still doesn't seem to work on Windows 7 64bit for me. It runs on my Windows 7 32bit laptop anyway minus the eternal maintenance icon when trying to update.
     
  16. mashruf

    mashruf Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hi, My samsung Europa is doing a strange behaviour, which I described earlier here. Please have a look and let me know.

    Thanks for your help
     
  17. LYNDYC1

    LYNDYC1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Have you had any replies to this as my phone is doing exactly the same. Trying to update due to getting repeat texts which is getting VERY annoying !!

    :)
     
  18. Hadders7

    Hadders7 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi

    Also trying to sort text issue and trying to update firmware using kies on win7 64bit.

    In response to those struggling with it hanging on the yellow android working screen try the following:

    Restart phone and PC. Start Kies. Connect phone. Agree to update and download starts. As download comes to end keep phone awake by pressing any key. The upgrade should then begin.

    If this fails restart all and begin again, hope this helps.

    Hadders
     
  19. IanSavell

    IanSavell Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    I have the same problem as Waylaid and Primrose, but not the solutions.

    SD card is mounted, I've tried on three different laptops with XP, Vista and Win7 64 bit OSes. I'm running from an administrator account, I'm using the very latest Kies (the update that comes in after you download and install the "latest version" from Samsung), I've have rebooted, attached phone after starting Kies, you name it I've done it several times.

    Every time the "downloading file" phase ends, it goes to the "firmware upgrade in progress" phase for a few seconds but no progress on the progress bar, then the phone goes blank (pressing buttons to keep alive doesn't help) then the upgrade screen on Kies disappears, the phone screen shows the yellow "downloading" icon and Kies goes back to "connecting". I've left it in this state hours just in case it is doing something in the background but it isn't - Task Manager shows the upgrade process just closing (and no errors in the Windows event log).

    A couple of times I tried Kies' "firmware emergency recovery" which appears to be to boot the phone into the downloading mode then Kies retries the upgrade without downloading new code. That didn't work either (sticks in the state normal firmware update crashes out), but at least it gives an error message ("Firmware emergency recovery stopped due to GT-I5500 error"). I guess that means no communication between phone and upgrade program. Helpful!

    I can always get the phone back by soft reboot (volume up plus power for 8 seconds then turn back on)

    Anyone else have suggestions?

    Incidentally, the phone is on Talk Mobile using Vodafone network. Mainly texts from O2 phones repeat, but some other phones as well. As the number was ported from O2 it may be that O2 servers are still passing the texts from other networks (Anyone know how number porting actually works?)

    Ian.
     
  20. oceanauk

    oceanauk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I had the same issue with the yellow android symbol just hanging on the phone for ages.

    I have found the solution - when you connect the phone to kies, on the screen there will be an exclamation symbol saying it is in debugging mode - go into this and there will be a menu - you can then tick the do not let phone sleep mode - this for some reason then enables the phone to accept the upgrade without any issues. Remember to uncheck it when you're done though.

    Hope this helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...