1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Kies will not connect

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Premo da Rula, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. Premo da Rula

    Premo da Rula Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I'm having trouble getting kies to recognize mt phone. I plug it in and it keeps askin me to connect a device. Do I need to have USB debugging checked? This is driving me nuts cause it was working.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Premo da Rula

    Premo da Rula Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Soooooo....... obviously noone else is having this problem.
     
  3. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    Hi Premo. Have you tried uninstalling/reinstalling Kies. Rebooting your computer and phone?
     
  4. Premo da Rula

    Premo da Rula Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Yeah Ive tried all those even installed on another laptop. I'm stumped . It worked a couple of months ago.
     
  5. alexiskisses

    alexiskisses Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012

    Nov 14, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Yup, its happening to my Galaxy s2....SAME EXACT THING!!! Hoping to find a solution..
     
  6. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    I've seen it happening a lot lately with people with different Samsung phones. Maybe its a Samsung problem.
     
  7. Premo da Rula

    Premo da Rula Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I dont know but it was working when the ICS update came out and a couple of months after. When I tried it this weekend nothin. I'm thinkin I need it so I can flash CWM seein as my pc needs to recognize my phone. Right????
     
  8. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    I have the T-Mobile Galaxy S2 so I'm not 100% sure how you flash CWM on yours. Check the stickies in the All Things Root section. I assume you would use Odin and yes, your PC would need to see your phone but not necessarily Kies. Odin would have to see it. If Odin sees your phone, you would see a yellow rectangle with a com number like this:
    [​IMG]

    Have you tried Kies with USB debugging checked?
     
  9. Premo da Rula

    Premo da Rula Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Yes I tried usb debugging checked on and I read the instructions and even you tubed them.
     
  10. ddshat

    ddshat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Try using a different USB cable. It may sound pointless but I switched cables and it worked fine. I has the same problem yesterday.
     
  11. neanders2

    neanders2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    I used Kies and it worked fine, albeit slow. Is it an issue of patience? I mean, it might have been a full minute before it recognized my phone. Data transfer and all that was slow, but it did work.
     
  12. capnmike

    capnmike Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    You should check out this]site, seems to be working in mine (for updating OS on phone), not sure if KIES will work properly afterwards...
     

Share This Page

Loading...