1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Kies wont show option to update firmware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Coldfist, May 1, 2012.

  1. Coldfist

    Coldfist Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I am going to be updating my Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100M to the Ice Cream Sandwich os and so I figured "Hey why not do a hard reformat of my phone" because it can be good to reformat a device before doing something like changing the os and now in kies when i plug my phone in the firmware information section is not showing the "Update Firmware" option.

    If anyone can help then thanks in advance. :) If you have any further questions or need any extra information then just post below please.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,391
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,391
    47,742
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Which version of the S2 do you have Coldfist. Not many folks frequent this area and I'd like to get your thread moved where you'll get some answers.
     
  3. Coldfist

    Coldfist Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I have a GT-I9100M
     
  4. Coldfist

    Coldfist Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Can you give me a link to the page its getting moved to?
     
  5. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,391
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,391
    47,742
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Certainly, I'm not familiar with that device so I asked some other staff members to help me out. I don't want to move you to the wrong place and leave yo worse off than being here. I or the staff member that gets you moved will leave a link here as well as send you a PM.
     
  6. Coldfist

    Coldfist Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    In the attachment.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. jayroller

    jayroller Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    102
    26
    63
    Male
    South of Heaven
    I had that one time, it was either my antivirus or firewall stopping Kies connecting to my phone, if I remember correctly. Try turning them off (if you have them) and try again - hopefully it should now show your FW.
     
  8. Coldfist

    Coldfist Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Ok so a hotfix just came out for Kies and it now shows the firmware version but it doesn't give me the option to update my firmware. This is what it looks like now.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. jayroller

    jayroller Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    102
    26
    63
    Male
    South of Heaven
    That shows your CSC as BMC, which according to this post hasn't seen ICS released through Kies yet. I'd say your options are wait until it is, or flash it yourself via Odin - there's lots of great info in the rest of that thread about what you can do. ;)
     
  10. Coldfist

    Coldfist Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Ok it's been released it turns out the ICS update wasn't out for the M version
     

Share This Page

Loading...