1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root kindle fire silk browser on cm7

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dark2456, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. Dark2456

    Dark2456 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    15
    6
    16
    Military
    Iowa
    Me again! I've decided to stick with cm7 nightly build 256 and ran into a problem. I hate the browser and did some research while running a stock rom. I found a thread for the kindle fire silk browser, it gave a download link and instructions. I figured what the heck downloaded it, extracted it moved the lib folder to system/lib and moved the silk.apk to system/app and installed the .apks that came with it. It worked great no problems decided this would be my goto browser on cm7.

    This is where I have the problem, I've done the same exact steps but the browser just fc's and idk how to fix. So I'm wondering if anyone can give me some help on fixing this, because if I don't get this browser working I'm going to have to continue looking for a new rom.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    try going into your recovery and either fix permissions found in clockwork mod recoveru under advanced or by going into advanced in amon ra and select fix uid mismatches. also while you are there try and wipe dalvik cache and cache as well.
     
    Dark2456 likes this.
  3. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Hey, does this function the same as on the Kindle Fire? What I'm really wondering is - does it pre-compute the page and scale it to your device like it does on the kindle? I thought this idea was really cool, basically, from my understanding is that if you're watching a 1080p video on the Fire, the browser won't send you the actual 1080 file, but one for reformatted to the device - using amazon's vast collection of supercomputers ;)
    Any word on that?

    (tl;dr - does it send traffic to amazon for added speed?)
     
  4. Dark2456

    Dark2456 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    15
    6
    16
    Military
    Iowa
    I don't know too much about the browser. Tried it out on a friends kindle fire and when I saw the thread saying it worked with cm7 I downloaded it. The thread said its exactly the same.
    The added speed I didn't see much of a difference but the option is in the settings.

    >Edit: no such luck, tried uid mismatch and wiping dalvick-cache and cache still force closes. I may try just regular cm7 and see if its because I'm using a nightly.
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    do you have a link for it? i'm curious about it myself now.
     
  6. Dark2456

    Dark2456 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    15
    6
    16
    Military
    Iowa
    [PORT] Amazon Kindle Fire "Silk" Browser - xda-developers

    In the instructions it says set lib files' permissions to the same as others, I've messed around with this but it has no effect I've set to all and I've set to the same. When running stock rom I didn't need to change permissions it worked right out of the box. I'm using the es file manager to copy files to root.
     
    9to5cynic and ocnbrze like this.
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  8. Dark2456

    Dark2456 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    15
    6
    16
    Military
    Iowa
    Ill change versions of cm7 to test... crap got drill today, squad leaders not going to understand that figuring this out was more important then sleep lol
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    get some sleep soldier. i really appreciate what you are doing for this country. just want to give my appreciation to you guys.
     
    argedion and Dark2456 like this.
  10. Dark2456

    Dark2456 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    15
    6
    16
    Military
    Iowa
    I've decided to try taking the lib folder from the stock rom and meshing it together with the lib folder in cm7 to see if maybe more then those 4 files are needed. Also thanks.

    >Edit: PROBLEM SOLVED: about 12 pages in someone posted a link for a fixed .Apk, the browser needed a certain permission that it wasn't receiving. Works great idk where I was going with the lib folder... it was late lol. Having spent a little time with the browser, it seems alot more sluggish then stock tho will have keep looking for a better browser.
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...