1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Known issues with the Galaxy Nexus

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nj02vette, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. sperho

    sperho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011

    Dec 2, 2011
    270
    126
    68
    Eastern TN
    I see no screen times in any of those pictures. Am I missing them? Where it shows you the bar graph/percentage of battery being used by the screen, press. The exact and total screen time will then show up.

    That said, I did not realize you had the HSPA+ version of the Nexus. That will certainly make battery life be less of an issue when compare to running the LTE in LTE/CDMA mode.
     

    Advertisement

  2. cartman9090

    cartman9090 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    18
    1
    16
    Screen on-time is displayed as the percentage of the total up-time(on battery only) if I understand correctly. So you can easily figure out the actual screen on-time.

    I did not bump this at the time of those shots, but I have checked this fact now as I have heavy use, and display total up time on battery 43 minutes, screen on time 36 minutes: 77% .

    The amount of light used on screen is absolutely crucial regarding the battery issue.
     
  3. TheGabeDiaz

    TheGabeDiaz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    DND
    Ottawa
    I am wondering if my issue can be resolved by me or if I should exchange my phone? After installing some apps, when I scroll to my Widget screens, at about the 3rd screen I get an error that says "Unfortunately, Launcher has stopped". I am not sure if one of the widgets for an app is doing this but I doubt it. Cuz the problem still pursists even if I uninstall my recent apps. This has happened twice, I did a factory reset the first time and was resolved. Now it's happening again. I don't want to have to keep resorting to a factory reset just as a bandage solution. I have had this phone for only 8 days so I'm getting frustrated. I'm still withing the return/exchange window.
    When I checked the script for the error the one that stood out was "illegal exception error". Why would this error occur simply from scrolling through my Widget screens? Now I can't do anything with my widgets without it crashing me out to my homescreen.
     
  4. sperho

    sperho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011

    Dec 2, 2011
    270
    126
    68
    Eastern TN
    That is incorrect. The percentage listed is the percentage of the spent battery life that the particular item has used. Screen on time is found when you press the bar on the bar graph on the screens that you showed. You can do this for any of the items and get more detailed information about that item.
     
  5. cartman9090

    cartman9090 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Oct 22, 2011
    18
    1
    16
    I will come back with these bumps.
     
  6. e24412

    e24412 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011

    Dec 16, 2011
    11
    4
    16
    I have a problem when switching off of WiFi and going back to 3G. I'll have a perfectly fine 3G signal when I switch to WiFi, but when I turn the WiFi off, my 3G bars will be gray (and I can't use anything with data, so it's not just a graphical glitch) until I turn the phone off then on again, then my 3G bars are back in blue almost immediately and data flows fine. Anyone else? Input?
     
  7. dually2852

    dually2852 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I'm having the same issue with shutting off WIFI and the 3G stays grey. It does not happen all the time.
     
  8. Misterbashi

    Misterbashi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    6
    1
    26
    Management
    China
    My keyboard lags when the phone is horizontal, but not when it's vertical.
    Does anyone know of a fix for this?
     
    skr8ness likes this.
  9. sperho

    sperho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011

    Dec 2, 2011
    270
    126
    68
    Eastern TN
    Misterbashi likes this.
  10. icsammich

    icsammich Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    I have had issues with the battery. Switching from the 1850 to 2100 I see how there could be issues, so now for the last 3 days I have only been using the 2100.

    Despite many restarts, full charges and full kills the battery is still acting up.

    It dies at 1% each time, yet when I plug it in it is around 40-47%.

    It has to be a software issue as clearly the battery didn't charge from 1 to 47% in 2 seconds. And yes, it is charged, as I can unplug after quickly plugging it in and it will hold that 47%.


    It also did this with the 1850 when I used that. I thought it may have been from switching back and forth between batteries but it doesn't look like that issue has been solved either

    sux.
     
  11. eckoman10301

    eckoman10301 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009

    Jul 3, 2009
    11
    0
    15
    Everything about my phone seems to be good, except I have dark lines and blotches in my screen which you can't really see unless you are in a dark room. I talked to warranty and they said I could take it to my nearest corporate verizon store and exchang it but they would mail me the replacement. B.S. Should I exchange it or ignore it?
     
  12. soy.lor.n

    soy.lor.n Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    225
    157
    68
    atl
    I have noticed this a couple times too. It's not consistent for me, but it is weird. I don't think the GNex is the first device I've seen this on though.
     
  13. christensenk

    christensenk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    For the record.

    First device died. Alarm woke me up in the morning, went about my business, when I wanted to check weather for my walk to work the device was off and wouldn't turn on. No matter what I tried (charge, remove battery) it was just dead. Verizon replaced it in 1 day.

    Second device won't hold a signal long enough to make or receive a phone call. From the moment I turned it on.

    Verizon is shipping my third device. Due to weekend I don't expect to receive it before Tue 10-Jan-2012.

    My expectations are low that this device will be any better. Verizon won't refund my money without a $35 'restocking fee'. Since I've had it since 18-Dec-2011 they didn't want to consider a return at all, citing a 14 day return policy, which they're extending until 15-Jan-2012 due to holiday, etc.

    I'm kinda hoping that the third device fails before then, otherwise I see myself spending an hour in the Verizon store every few days for the next year or so.
     
  14. Rdjr74

    Rdjr74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    725
    82
    78
    Cincy

    I'm on my second phone because of this. Some call it banding. From my experience mostly all of these screens do this. Some more then others as I'm proof of this. My second phone does have some banding but no where close to the first phone. Just be warned that you will have to convince the Verizon store that it is indeed a manufacturer defect and only then they will swap it out. I had to convince them. He wasn't going to replace it until he went into the back and showed his district manager. Lucky for me the guy showed up while I was talking to the store manage or else I don't think I would have this second phone. Verizon really is one of the least likable companies to deal with for me. They always make me feel like I'm trying to pull one over on them. Show your loyal customers a bit more respect. At least the district manager was able to do this. To bad he's not there all the time.
     
  15. Travillion

    Travillion Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    216
    181
    68
    State College, PA
    I believe this has to do with you using Face Unlock. That type of unlock bypasses all lockscreen controls (for example, quickly launching into camera instead of homescreen, accessing your notifications, etc.). I haven't tried Pandora, but I get lockscreen music controls with the normal slide to unlock setting. I assume it would be similar for Pandora.
     
  16. essexfuzz

    essexfuzz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010

    Oct 27, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Sounds like a problem with the gpu in your phone. You might need to just exchange it for a new one as I have not had any such issues with my G-Nex
     
  17. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Got another bug... er, "undocumented feature"...

    When I receive a popup text message in Handcent and clear it, the phone goes to the lock screen but the pattern is invisible! No dots! :eek:

    Fortunately, I have gotten good at knowing where to draw on the screen to unlock it. Clearly an ICS issue. Anyone else notice this?
     
  18. kcs7272

    kcs7272 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    962
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    962
    536
    163
    Retired Martial Arts Instructor. Now-Poker Player.
    (Pittsburgh sort of)Jeannette ( West Newton as of

    I absolutely love and hate this phone. We definitely need some updates asap.
     
  19. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    I said it many times during the launch thread, that reality couldn't ever meet the expectations levied on the Nexus. So far there have been quite a few minor issues, and a few major issues that need to be resolved.

    Keep 'em coming, and I promise to update this thread soon. Its been a busy time through the holidays.
     
  20. jtv08

    jtv08 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    3
    0
    25
    I just received my G-Nex yesterday.

    When I tried to download 'My Apps' from Market, I got an error message "Cannot download due to an error". It happens every time regardless of the App I'm tried to download.

    I then hit the back button and the download progress bar is there as if downloading the requested app. But it just stays there in progress forever and the "stop" button is ineffective, i.e. it does nothing.

    Today Market doesn't even load. But none of these issues occur with other android phones.

    This issue occurs regardless of location, signal strength or any other possibilities. Reboot does not fix. Problem resumes with exact same display of 'downloading' apps after clearing cache and Force closing.

    Anyone help?
     
  21. PhoneHope

    PhoneHope Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Had exactly the same issue. Hours on the phone with Bell as well as Samsung and no resolution. Frustrating.
     
  22. PhoneHope

    PhoneHope Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I have the same issue
     
  23. chufly29

    chufly29 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I just wanted to throw out another "Slow USB transfer" trick that's worked for me. instead of dragging and dropping, I right click and select "Copy" on the file, or folder that i want to move. Then I right click "Paste" in the destination folder on the GNex and viola fast (or fast-ish) transfer every time. I confirmed this works with both the USB cable that came with the GNex and my USB cable that came with my DInc.
     
  24. kavehmz

    kavehmz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have the same problem with my new galaxy nexus. Top pale blue against a white background.
    I think all this new problems is related to google decision to make a curved screen.
    It needs more than one or two generations to get mature or disapear as a bad idea.
     
  25. n3rdvana

    n3rdvana Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012

    Jan 15, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I have an audio clicking problem that's a little bit different from the one mentioned on the main post. Whenever I play music, the quality is fine when the screen is on, but as soon as I lock it, I start hearing weird clicks in the background that don't stop until I unlock the screen, making listening to music unpractical. The weird part is, this only has only happened with Google Music, Winamp, and Doubletwist. The audio clicking doesn't happen when I lock the phone while listening to Pandora or Spotify. Does anybody have any advice/solutions for me?
    Thanks in advance! -n3rdvana
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...