1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root Koumajutsu's SD-Card Partition Tool for Prevail

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Koumajutsu, Jun 19, 2012.

  1. Koumajutsu

    Koumajutsu Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    Koumajutsu here once again, with a gift

    SDparter.apk version 1.1

    My tool for partitioning SD-cards.

    This is roughly based on 51dusty's sdparted 0.6 script for CyanogenMod with a few key differences.

    1) This is an Android App and not a script.
    2) This does not need to be run through a terminal while in Recovery
    3) It carries what tools it needs with it (parted, tune2fs, e2fsck binaries)
    4) This only supports FAT32, EXT4 and SWAP partitions (EXT2 and EXT3 have been omitted for sake of simplicity)

    This has been tested with the Samsung Galaxy Prevail, but may work with other devices.

    SCREENSHOTS! (coming soon)

    Requirements: Root, EXT4 support, Swap Support
    File system supports are only required to create those partition types. You should be able to use this to create partitions that your system supports so long as you don't try to make partitions you don't support (I.E. if you only have EXT4 support, do not expect swap partitions to work and not cause FCs)

    Unlike a lot of other people's apps out there, I'm going to suggest that Developers include this app as a system app in their ROMs if it works on their device. All I ask is you drop my name somewhere :D

    Changelog:
    1.0: Initial Release
    1.1: Fixed Force Close when parsing non-whole numbers into integers. Fixed potential Force Close if app is run without an SD-card installed. Added checks for each binary individually

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. kristopher5823

    kristopher5823 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    418
    179
    68
    Dahlonega, GA
    Making everything so easy thanks :)
     
  3. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,494
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,494
    3,159
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    Great idea!
     
  4. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    849
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    pretty slick when open up app it will tell you how you are partioned now.
     
  5. kevincott

    kevincott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,267
    296
    163
    Chicago, IL
    Getting FC on CTMod3.68.

    Redownloaded and reinstalled same thing.


    It gets past asking for Superuser then dies.



    edit: had kouma settings on SSM, changed to data rebooted and same issue. Phone acting up. Going to save SD data, wipe everything and reinstall.
     
  6. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    849
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    i'm still on 3.6
     
  7. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,494
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,494
    3,159
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    I'm having FC issues but I'm on 3.6

    EDIT: Just updated to 3.68 and it works. It could be the way I installed it. When I did this on 3.6, I pushed the apk to /system/app using adb. This time I used adb install to do this and it works, no FCs
     
  8. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    849
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    i just did the drill and opened up and worked fine, even clicked on stuff to check out and worked fine, don't know? enen just oped up again works fine.
     
  9. kevincott

    kevincott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,267
    296
    163
    Chicago, IL
    Fell back to a CWM CTMod3.6 and SDparter works.

    Will try 3.68 again later.
     
  10. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    849
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    well thats good but wierd, palmtree5 said he was on 3.6 and wouldn't work for him, wierd?
     
  11. MaNiMaL4187

    MaNiMaL4187 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    25
    4
    16
    I'm on half ass 2, with fe16 baseband, kk 2.5. Just installed the sdparter for shits and giggles. Fc's on me. Any help?
     
  12. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    849
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    got no clue, maybe way installed? kevi no go on one and worked on another and then someone else on same and no go, mine went first time.
     
  13. Koumajutsu

    Koumajutsu Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    please provide a logcat capture.
    and as much detail as possible.
    i.e.: the size of your sdcard, and the size of your current partitions and their filesystems

    just saying that it force closes is of no use to anyone
     
  14. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    849
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    here is a screenshot.


    2012-06-19 16.15.27.png
     
  15. Bloodawn

    Bloodawn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,176
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    2,176
    2,619
    313
    Male
    Illinois
    nice bro. good work as always.
     
  16. kevincott

    kevincott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,267
    296
    163
    Chicago, IL
    I am accepting that it didn't run for me thru a problem on my end. After I repartioned the SD (CWM) and erased all data, worked fine on reinstallation.
     
  17. Koumajutsu

    Koumajutsu Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    I still wonder what caused you to have FCs
    If it ever happens again, please get a logcat containing the error.
    If I can figure out what happened, I can make the app provide useful feedback rather than just decide that it can't run because it read something it didn't like
     
  18. kevincott

    kevincott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,267
    296
    163
    Chicago, IL

    Will do. After fresh install of CTMod 3.68 SDparter works.
     
  19. hyusa

    hyusa Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    43
    5
    16
    Was going to upgrade to the new CTmod, so I threw this is the systems app folder to have it install along with everything else. Tried to launch it and got an FC. I'm using the stock SD card. Here's the logcat. SDparter logcat - Pastebin.com

    I've never outputted one before, so I wasn't exactly sure what you needed. I hope this helps you help me.
     
  20. Koumajutsu

    Koumajutsu Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    cool, I'll have a fix shortly.

    The problem was related to my assumption that I would receive partition sizes from the system in whole numbers.
    Code (Text):
    1. E/AndroidRuntime( 3444): Caused by: java.lang.NumberFormatException: unable to parse '64.4' as integer
    is where I found a decimal point and choked :D
     
    hyusa likes this.
  21. hyusa

    hyusa Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    43
    5
    16
    ^sweet, glad I could be of assistance, haha.
     
  22. Koumajutsu

    Koumajutsu Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

  23. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    849
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    cool but why did it work on mine?
    and should i leave it or get rid of and use new one?
     
  24. kdraw44

    kdraw44 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #192
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    578
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012

    Mar 25, 2012
    578
    222
    113
    Male
    Welder/Pipefitter
    Macon, GA
    Works perfect, thanks:)
     
  25. Koumajutsu

    Koumajutsu Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    you probably partitioned your's with sdparted like mine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...