1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Koush has released CWR for the Bionic

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tehsusenoh, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    Yes, it is here.

    Check the ROM Manager, it's on the list!

    Reports show that this version is a bit slower than CVPCS's version, but it's still official.

    Also, the progress bar works!

    No bootstrapping needed anymore, and ROM Manger supposedly works.
     

    Advertisement

    Theshape, johnlgalt, murth and 5 others like this.
  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
  3. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    i 2nd that YES!!!!
     
  4. bigbabys

    bigbabys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    490
    116
    88
    Personal Account Manager
    Largo, FL
    How can bootstrapping not be necessary on a locked bootloader? I could never get ROM Manager to properly boot into CWR.
     
  5. almahix

    almahix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    280
    37
    43
    Retired software whore
    Southern CA
    Neither can I. Sad
     
  6. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    I guess we'll find out!! :cool:
     
  7. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58
    Okay. That is what I have been waiting on. Root/Roms here I come.
     
  8. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Thanks tehsusenoh this awsome.
     
  9. p8ntballah21

    p8ntballah21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    263
    59
    53
    Ummmmmm Is it just me, but my phone will not boot into recovery with CWR. It says I successfully installed it, but it wont boot. Also if I go into Bootstrap and reboot the recovery looks the same as it did before, so I am not sure if CWR is working at all. My recovery menu says "Cwm-based recovery v4.0.1.5
     
  10. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    Looks like you're still using the Bootstrap Recovery. Did you flash recovery from Rom Manager and choose Droid Bionic? That's all I pretty much did. I flashed recovery from Rom Manager and did my first backup with Rom Manager. Was able to boot into recovery just fine.

    My ClockworkMod Recovery is 5.0.2.4 in Rom Manager.
     
  11. p8ntballah21

    p8ntballah21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    263
    59
    53


    According to CW it sucessfully flashed 5.0.2.4, but it wont reboot into recovery, I select it, hit ok, and it just stays on that pop up menu, eventually it goes away but the phone never reboots, sometimes I get FC's as well.

    Cant back up from the program either, I hit ok to confirm and the pop up just stays on with OK highlighted?

    Im not a noob with this program, I don't know what I am missing.

    Do I have to uninstall bootstrap first?
     
  12. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    I still have Bootstrap installed on mine. Does Rom Manager say:

    Current Recovery: ClockworkMod 5.0.2.4
    Latest Recovery: ClockworkMod 5.0.2.4

    That's what I see. You could uninstall and reinstall Rom Manager too. I actually did that cause I thought the latest version was 4.5 and its still 4.4.0.7.

    Here's what I did:

    Uninstall and Reinstall Rom Manager. Opened up Rom Manager and hit Flash ClockworkMod Recovery. It gave me a warning about doing it over WIFI. Clicked OK and let it download and flash. Then I hit Fix Permissions out of habit. Let it finish then I hit Backup Current ROM and it asked me for the filename. I hit OK and it rebooted into Recovery and did it's thing and rebooted once done.
     
  13. p8ntballah21

    p8ntballah21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    263
    59
    53

    It stays

    Current Recovery: ClockworkMod 5.0.2.4
    Latest Recovery: ClockworkMod 5.0.2.4

    I get an error when it tries to fix permissions....WTF


    edit :hmm superuser app is gone?????????

    edit 2: installed su from market and it fc's
     
  14. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Same with me.
     
  15. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    Were you getting FCs before this? What ROM you using? Did you freeze/delete any programs recently?

    Did you guys WIPE before installing new ROM?
     
  16. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    no. Just the deoxoed. no and no

    I am going to wipe and reinstall now to see if that makes a difference.
     
  17. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    LMFAO. After reading you're guy's problems I had to do a battery pull. I went to check my phone and all I had was a black screen. Nothing lite up when hitting the power button. Go figure I'd start having problems.
     
  18. dmbfan13

    dmbfan13 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    57
    2
    16
    I can't seem to boot in to recovery mode from Rom Manager. Says I have version 5.0.2.4. Something isn't right! Could boot in to recovery just fine from Bionic Bootstrapper. I wonder if it has something to do with Rom Manager putting the clockwork directory on the "sdcard" and not the "sdcard-ext". Anyone know how to fix this?
     
  19. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58
    Okay, so as a general consensus, let's just stick with the bootstrap method for now?
     
  20. bigbabys

    bigbabys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    490
    116
    88
    Personal Account Manager
    Largo, FL

    As I stated above I've never had ROM Manager fully work with any ROM based on the motorola kernel. This includes every custom ROM on my X. It did work with 2init roms like CM7 however.
     
  21. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    Seems like it. Anyone else besides me was able to get it working?
     
  22. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Anybody that it is not working for have the superuser app working?
     
  23. dmbfan13

    dmbfan13 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    57
    2
    16
    superuser app works fine for me! try uninstalling it. then go to the market and reinstall it.
     
  24. p8ntballah21

    p8ntballah21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    263
    59
    53

    Same, never wiped on the deox, lost su icon but was still allowed su by bootstrap, drocap2, ti etc etc

    I reverted to a old back up b4 my doex rom, i had my Su back, when CWM installed it asked for SU and it now reboots back into recovery!
     
  25. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    Could it be that CWM doesn't work if SU isn't working properly? It does need to ask for SU permissions to make changes. So I am guessing if you have SU issues then CWM will not work for you?
     

Share This Page

Loading...