1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Kyocera rise, nobody can hear me on calls

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tfresca, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. tfresca

    tfresca Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    I got one of these recently, virgin mobile and Target, and I like the phone but the microphone doesn't seem to work. I tried it with headphones and it works fine but using speakerphone or regular mode nobody can hear me. I can here them fine but I put out absolute silence. I think I'm within my return period but if anyone knows how to fix this issue I'd appreciate it. I've tried hard resets,etc, but no dice. I've found no information anywhere about people having a similar issue. Thanks for any help you can give.
     

    Advertisement

  2. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    Is it on mute?
     
  3. tammythomas20

    tammythomas20 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I have bought a Rise phone from Target and I love it, BUT the first one wouldn't charge except day one.The second phone-no one can hear me, norI them UNLESS its on speaker. Returned it again. Now on my third one and its doinf=g the same thing. Can't hear when on the phone. Am I missing something? I even called support at Virgin mobile and they said return it. But since it happened again, I don't know if its the phone or I missed something. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
     
  4. tfresca

    tfresca Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013

    Jan 7, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    No it's not. Voice search doesn't work either. The mic is totally dead.
     
  5. db2

    db2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    Send Virgin an email detailing the problem, they'll send you a replacement. You'll have to send the your current one back to them sans battery so delete your accounts from it before switching. Keep the sdcard too, they only care about the phone part.
     
  6. scbu

    scbu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    :beer:How to fix Kyocera when you can't hear
    Go to settings go to sounds and check Hearing aid...Yes! Hearing aid...YEAH!
     
  7. scbu

    scbu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    :party:How to fix Kyocera when you can't hear
    Go to settings go to sounds and check Hearing aid...Yes! Hearing aid...YEAH!
     
  8. TechDad378

    TechDad378 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    123
    17
    58
    Male
    The Shore
    Sometimes incompatible apps cause unwanted results.

    Try this...
    Go to settings..
    Select backup&reset
    Select the option which states factory reset and follow the prompts
    ... This will delete all the data on your phone...
    If you plan on returning the phone you will want to do this step before returning anyway.

    Once the factory reset completes the phone will reboot.
    After finishing the set-up process test the calls.

    If you can make calls with no problems there was an app/feature you placed on your phone which was incompatible and caused the mic not to work.

    If the mic did not work after factory reset, your mic is damaged and you will need to call virgin mobile for a replacement.

    I suggest calling VM for replacement then bringing it back to the store.

    Hope this helps!

    TD378
     
  9. Bill3600

    Bill3600 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014

    Mar 5, 2014
    7
    3
    6
    Male
    retired
    Texas
    None of these answers worked!
     
  10. Slewfoot628

    Slewfoot628 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017

    Mar 5, 2017
    1
    0
    15
    Performing the back up and full factory reset fixed the issue. I believe that one of my apps must have hijacked the mic as when I made calls it worked for a few seconds and then nothing. No and after the full reset it is working well again. Don't forget to back up your stuff, I used my gmail drive and it went rather smoothly.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...