1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Lag, lag, freeze, lag...aahhhhh

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by angiembfl, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. angiembfl

    angiembfl Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    183
    7
    36
    NE FL
    Ok so I've only been rooted for about a week and my Ally is constantly freezing for about 3-4 seconds and then it'll catch. It's driving me crazy! Please tell me this isn't normal and there's an easy fix. Help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. savoxis

    savoxis Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    812
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    812
    708
    163
    ODOT Field Services Tech
    Pacific NW
    Well.

    What did you do after you rooted? It is not normal for your phone to be unstable. There are a whole lot of things that could have happened (almost all occur during the install process) that could cause stability issues.

    Your best bet, make sure contacts and all are being synced to google, get titanium backup and backup your applications, then flash either a custom rom or a stock rom, after wiping EVERYTHING in recovery.

    After your up in the new environment you can restore your applications, I would hold off on restoring the application data (savegames and whatnot) as this usually causes trouble


    Good luck!
     
  3. lightningdude

    lightningdude Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    86
    28
    23
    This is just a far out guess, but have you, by chance, put any apps on your SD Card? If so, what apps are on your SD card? Just a little more digging before going Savoxis' route, I guess.
     
  4. angiembfl

    angiembfl Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    183
    7
    36
    NE FL
    Yes, I do have apps on my SD card. Almost all of them that can be moved actually. Is this bad? I don't have many because I wanted to make sure everything was working right before adding a ton of apps. On my SD Card:

    AppBrain
    Titanium
    eBay
    Financisto
    Trillian

    Also, I've noticed that it seems to do this more when I'm at home using wifi but right now at work it's not doing it at all. Could it have to do with wifi being on? I have to use wifi at home because I'm on the fringe of the coverage area so any app that needs web access is slooow just using 3g (which is actually 1x since it's bad coverage).

    Thoughts?
    And as usual many thanks!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...