1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Lag with Desktop/Launcher Screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dolmangar, Mar 8, 2011.

  1. Dolmangar

    Dolmangar Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    257
    14
    38
    Rational Tools Consultant
    DC Metro Area - USA
    I did a manual install of 2.33 a week ago or so and have been having one nagging issue.

    I'm on build GRI40, Kernel 2.6.35.7-59423-g08607d4
    Internal Storage 63MB Free
    RAM 253MB Free at this time

    The issue is that the launcher/desktop will lag when sliding between the five screens. Sometimes it won't do anything as if the touch screen has stopped registering. The touch screen buttons (menu -> settings for example) still work and respond normally so I'm pretty sure that phone itself isn't CPU bound. At first I just thought that my finger tips were to dry to activate the screen, but that doesn't seem to be the issue.

    As the problem gets worse I've noticed a 2-5 second delay for the icons to appear on the desktop after hitting the home key. The background will appear, and then the icons will take a while.

    I'm running the standard Android launcher, and I've removed some apps that I'd just picked up to see if that was the issue (I'd installed the Astrid widget on the main screen) and I've experimented with basic and live backgrounds to see if it changed anything. It didn't appear to make a difference.


    After a reboot the problem goes away, but does come back after a day or two.

    Anyone else experiencing something like this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. aviator

    aviator Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    27
    7
    16
    Ohio, USA
    Yep, I have. It annoyed me enough that I wiped my phone last night and 'selectively' reinstalled the apps I had on it before. I noticed it again today, so apparently the wipe didn't help.
     
  3. Ngo93

    Ngo93 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    586
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Try running autokiller and see if that helps.
     
  4. zimo

    zimo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I am having the same problem here with my Nexus One (Rogers), I installed Gingerbread 2.3.3 manually two weeks ago and I am experiencing problems since yesterday ...

    The problem is with the Launcher, it works well and then suddenly everything becomes laggy (scrolling from homescreen to another just doesn't work, the menu doesn't work: it's all in black and then it comes back to the home screen, also, the icons and widgets don't stop vanishing and reappearing every 3 secondes...). Note that the problem doesn't go away if I restart the phone...

    I have tried to uninstall several apps, I disabled the live wallpaper, cleaned the phone, took off and plugged back in the SIM and Memory card, deleted all my text messages, installed another launcher, removed all the widgets and icons from the homescreen, ran an antivirus (from my computer and from my cellphone), reinstalled Gingerbread. but the problem still happens ... worse, now I even lose mobile coverage from time to time !

    Has it happened to anyone ? Also, I didn't root my phone and didn't drop it at all, I am taking complete care of it ...

    If someone can help, it would be very nice ! I suspect it to be a problem with Gingerbread ... ?

    Thank you !


    PS. I bought the Nexus One brand new from Google in last June ... so it can't be a problem with the last owner of the phone
     
  5. Dolmangar

    Dolmangar Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    257
    14
    38
    Rational Tools Consultant
    DC Metro Area - USA
    Mine wasn't nearly as bad as you describe, but it sounds very similar. However a reboot solved the problem and it doesn't seem to have come back in the last 81 hours of Up Time. I'm continuing to watch it.

    When you say you cleaned it off, did you do a full wipe? I'd give that a shot as a last resort just to see if it causes a problem.

    Also try cleaning out your application caches' and maybe a reboot without your SD card installed. Not sure why that would matter but it sounds like you've got a run-away service somewhere.

    How much memory and RAM are you showing?







     
  6. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    like a developer @ android [google] once said : wipe dalvik & cache before every update so it won't give you any headackes .
     
  7. zimo

    zimo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Thank you for your help I really appreciate it ... glad to hear yours is working well now.

    When I said I cleaned if off, what I meant was to clean it from dust, not the software ... However I did delete the cache from all the apps. A reboot without the SD didn't work either I had tried it also lol.

    Yesterday, after posting this, I uninstall some more apps and there was no problem today, so maybe it was one of the apps that was causing the problem ... only time will tell ! Have you uninstalled apps also before your phone got better ?

    In the case the problem still persists, I guess I would have to do a full wipe as you said ... unless there's a way to downgrade back to Froyo ?

    Thanks again for your help !
     
  8. zimo

    zimo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I actually wipe cache very often to keep it cleen ... but what exactly is dalvik ?

    Thanks !
     
  9. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    To be more exact :

    "Dalvik is the process virtual machine (VM) in Google's Android operating system. Dalvik is thus an integral part of Android, which is typically used on mobile devices such as mobile phones, tablet computers and netbooks. Before execution, Android applications are converted into the compact Dalvik Executable (.dex) format, which is designed to be suitable for systems that are constrained in terms of memory and processor speed."
     
  10. zimo

    zimo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Ok so after approximately 24 hours without the problem, it just came back :(

    @razvan06: How do I do that ?
     
  11. zimo

    zimo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I have noticed some other problems ... when in a call, I can hear the other person but the other person can't hear me. I have to hang up and try again and it is only after the 2nd or 3rd time that it works well. Also, the GPS is not working properly, I get a location of 1000m within my exact location ...

    I am thinking of rooting my phone to solve the problem, do you guys think this would work ? And can I send back my phone to Google for repair ? (It is supposed to be a one year warranty and it's not been one year since I got it yet...but I know Google has stopped working on the Nexus One)
     
  12. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    if you are rooted you will find the "wipe dalvik" option under "Advanced" button.
    as for the unrooted wipe ...dunno
     
  13. Dolmangar

    Dolmangar Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    257
    14
    38
    Rational Tools Consultant
    DC Metro Area - USA
    Mine seems to be holding. 150 hours of uptime without the issue.

    I'm pretty sure it's a widget problem. The widgets probably load in the background and start to populate as the screen icons load when you switch to the home screen. if there is a conflict of issue between them it may cause the delay.

    I had installed one of the Google Task widgets (Astrid I think) on the main page around the same time I started having trouble. I've since un-installed but I haven't reinstalled to see if the problem returns.

    Give this a try. Remove all of the widgets from your home page and run for a day and see if the lag is gone. I'm currently running the following widgets without an issue:

    Built in Calendar Widget
    Built in Power Control
    Weather/News
    Facebook
    Google Voice
    Google Reader
    Nexus One Flashlight
    Extended Controls
    Agenda Widget

    I add and remove these as I need, but I've pretty much stabilized on this list. I just added the Agenda Widget so we'll see if it causes issues.

     
  14. diablodestroye

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Have the same problem on my Nexus 1, and task killers all that do not work. However you can try closing the launcher and then see how it goes.

    To do this go to applications and go to all. Then scroll down to launcher and force close it which will cause the home screen to refresh and clean itself up before updating it again.

    Tell me if that works because it does for me.
     
  15. Dolmangar

    Dolmangar Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    257
    14
    38
    Rational Tools Consultant
    DC Metro Area - USA
    Everything seems to be holding stable for me. I'm convinced that it was a widget problem.

    I did in fact do a force close on the launcher previously. Which seemed to refresh it for a little while. But then I started getting force closes/crashes on it's own.

    At this point I'm at 225 hours uptime, without the problem returning. I haven't reinstalled the widget that was suspect (Astrid) but I may do it just to see if the problem returns. I generally do a reboot every 300 hours or so if I haven't done one for some other reason, after 350 hours I was noticing a touch screen calibration problem so I got in the habit of the occasional reboot.
     
  16. Dolmangar

    Dolmangar Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    257
    14
    38
    Rational Tools Consultant
    DC Metro Area - USA
    The Launcher lag came back today. I was at about 325+ hours of uptime. Did a reboot and was back to normal. I'm willing to live with that since I typically like to do a reboot once a week anyway.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...