1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Lag!!??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by polo1000rr, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. polo1000rr

    polo1000rr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    blue angel pilot
    at your moms
    Well Ive had my captivate for about 2 weeks now and I'm trying to learn it and like it. I was wondering if there is a way to fix the lag thing without rooting. I am really thinking about going back to blackberry mainly because it might suit my needs better. This one does everything i need but not as easy but it does do so much more. Anyways thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. marefin

    marefin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    404
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    404
    31
    43
    To my knowledge there isn't a way to fix the lag without rooting. However there is a quick root with a lag fix available. Search for "One Click Lag Fix" in the Market. The app roots the phone and then you can apply the lag fix through the app. It was a very simple process and I don't regret it one bit so far. And it really does solve the lag issue to a great extent.
     
    polo1000rr likes this.
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Moved to the Captivate forums for you, polo. ;)
     
  4. BumpySig

    BumpySig Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    29
    4
    16
    As marefin mentioned there is an app to root and it is very painless and simple. However if you do not want to root you can replace touchwiz as your launcher and you will notice the device will be a bit more snappy. To do this you need to download the home switcher app and your choice of launcher (the big three are Launcher Pro, ADW and Helix). Once you do this open up home switcher and select whichever launcher you chose to be your default. You have to re-organize your screens but it is worth it. I did this with Launcher Pro Plus before I rooted my Captivate and there was a noticeable difference. Launcher Pro has up to 7 home screens a scrollable dock with up to 15 buttons.
     
  5. Loremonger

    Loremonger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    135
    8
    36
    You could just wait for the Froyo update, but who knows when that will be out? Still, I guarantee this phone will be smooth as butta with Froyo.
     
  6. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,087
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    3,087
    1,568
    313
    Studying
    Qu
    I deleted a few posts here, guys please try to stay on topic in serious threads. We've got The Lounge for all your off-topic messing around needs. ;)

    As for the lag, I've heard it's really worth it to use the application the other people mentioned, although I don't own a captivate. :D
     
  7. polo1000rr

    polo1000rr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    blue angel pilot
    at your moms

    Well i did it! i surprised my self i guess!! lol. I do see a big difference in lag while using the different processes but i was hoping the wake from sleep lag and to end phone call lag would disappear too. any ideas for this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...