• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Language problem : only English is available on Asian version of ROM > Need to flash ?

martypro

Lurker
Feb 28, 2014
Hello everyone,:hello:

I bought my Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) SM-P605 in Hong Kong. Great product ! But the languages available on the device are only English and Chinese. :s:

I've been trying to solve this problem alone :dontknow: for a few days and read all I could on forums, so I'm thinking of flashing the device with Odin and install the french version ROM (P605XXUBMJ9_P605OXXBMJ2_XEF) firmware to get french language by default. But a course I'm a little afaid right now. :eek: It's my first time with Android !
Has some of you installed a french ROM on a recent Asian hardware and can confirm it works fine ?
Is there another way to change the CSC without flashing the firmware or rooting the device ?

I think it should be OK but still, 5 questions torment me. If someone has answers, I'll be really thankful ! :tee:

1) Does the 4G works fine after flashing ? Does the modem driver of the XEF ROM (P605XXUBMJ9_P605OXXBMJ2_XEF.zip ) is 100% compatible with my hardware purchased in Asia? How can I be sure? FYI my operator is Bouygues Telecom France.
2) How is it going after for updates ? Will I need to reflash everytime to update the tablet or the OTA update will still work normally ?
3) What about the flash counter ? I realized that the Knox counter would not be affected if I install an official version, you confirm ? But will the flash counter be affected even if it's a official ROM that I install ? And will it also cancel my warranty ? What impact will this flash have exactly on the device ?
4) Is it certain that my CSC will change for sure to French with a flash of my device for the P605XXUBMJ9_P605OXXBMJ2_XEF firmware ? Or is there a chance it won't change anyway ?