• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Laptop vs Tablet

Mehta23

Android Expert
Nov 28, 2011
England,UK
gadgetblur.com
Just thought several of you would be able to offer an insight to what is recommended for me.

I am a student, and in 2 years, I will be off to Uni. I was thinking of getting a Nexus 7 now, both for fun and to help me with my studies - trust me, I'd rather do anything than use the school computers.

But I've also wondered if it's better to get a laptop, or, because they're so expensive now, to wait until I actually need one, and get a suitable one later on. ( I have a pretty decent PC at home, so a portable PC isn't exactly necessary)

I pretty much immediately ruled out the tablet/laptop ultrabook thingys, as

the one big disadvantage of tablets is 1) no physical keyboard which can make typing long documents a pain, 2) PC apps won't run on them--which may be required in your school

my college classes required me to install demos of WinNT and Win2K a lot, so i brought along a laptop then for that reason. none of the required software would run on Linux (or Android nowadays) in addition my testing software required Windows too (for A+ certification)

Upvote 0
Ive tried doing document/typing work on my nexus 7 with a bluetooth keyboard. It was a real pain. I honestly wouldnt use a tablet for anything other than quick internet browsing and video playback. I dont even use my Nexus 7 any more. If i want to watch a youtube video or something in bed, i just use my phone. Any time i need to do typing, such as a post on this forum, i use my laptop. Whether its on my lap or on the table, my laptop provides a higher level of convenience in every way except mobility compared to a tablet. If your device is going to be sitting on the desk all the time, just get a laptop.