1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Largest Micro SD card for N1?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zombiedad, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. zombiedad

    zombiedad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    19
    4
    16
    What is the largest micro sd card that will work with a nexus one? I'd like to expand on the dinky little 2GB card I'm using now, but don't want to overbuy.

    thanks...
     

    Advertisement

  2. Smersh

    Smersh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    15
    2
    16
    The Sandisk 32GB works fine in mine, and you won't find any bigger cards at this point.
     
    zombiedad likes this.
  3. Mostly Harmless

    Mostly Harmless Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    1,523
    264
    163
    Engineer
    New York
    I use a 16GB Sandisk. So far I haven't had an issue with space. I have about 7 GB worth of music on the card alone. While I could see myself upgrading to the 32GB in the future it's just too expensive for me right now.
     
    zombiedad likes this.
  4. christensen.g

    christensen.g Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    San Diego, CA
    I think it can only support a 32GB, no support for us with anything bigger yet.

    That is what the specs say on google.com/phone
     
  5. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    I think 32GB is the maximum a Nexus One supports.
     
  6. Smersh

    Smersh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    15
    2
    16
    Yes, and I think it is the same for pretty most current phones, as the SDHC standard used by the microSD cards sets a limit at 32GB. In theory SDHC could be extended well beyond this, so bigger microSD cards could be built then, and current phones might be able to read them (maybe requiring a firmware upgrade) - but that is a lot of maybes. Given how fast the phones become outdated and given that the SDHC standard itself has already been superceded by SDXC, current phones could likely remain at 32GB indefinitely.
     
  7. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    32GB is still a LOT!!! Are people finding that 32GB isn't enough? o_O
     
  8. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    ...you want more? buy a HDD and stick it to the phone :D

    I have a 8GB card and i really don't see why upgrading to 16 [for now] ,but 32 it's too much !

    P.S. : keeping all your crap on the SD card won'y make you feel better ! :)
     
  9. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    I'm waiting for the 16GB to drop in price since it's still expensive. It's $50 for a calss 4 and $60 for a class 6.
     
  10. Smersh

    Smersh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    15
    2
    16
    If all your crap fits onto the SD card, then it's no wonder you are not feeling better - you need more crap! :eek:;)
    My music collection would fill several cards. (Un)fortunately, as much as I like the N1 in general, I feel it is a poor music player, so I use a dedicated DAP and don't need that much space on the phone.
     
  11. hipocrazy

    hipocrazy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    72
    6
    16
    have you tried Poweramp? Ups the mp3 functionality of this phone in my opinion.
    Back on topic I personally use a 16GB sd and see no need for more 'crap' ;)
     
  12. jacindc

    jacindc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    34
    4
    16
    A question along these lines--can you just straight copy everything from your existing SD to a new one? Or do all apps that you've installed to your existing SD have to be uninstalled or moved back to the phone and then reinstalled to the new SD?
     
  13. Smersh

    Smersh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    15
    2
    16
    I have, actually, and you are right, it is a decent player (albeit not yet perfectly gapless). My discontentment with using the N1 as a DAP is mostly due to the hardware, though - touchscreen controls just don't work well for me, I prefer buttons (so this is not strictly a N1-specific problem, but it is aggravated by the so-so legibility of the N1's screen in the sun). Also, when not in airplane mode I can hear a low, continuous thumping noise in the background during quiet passages, using good headphones. I have read reports from other people experiencing the same, so I believe it may be some general oddity with the N1 hardware.
     
  14. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    I tried this ...and if you don't change anything on the phone 'till you move the content ,it's gonna turn out fine !
     
  15. defiantbeast

    defiantbeast Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #586
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    217
    17
    38
    Physics and Biology teacher
    Philadelphia
    Ive had a 16gb card since they were first available. I believe its a class 2-4 that i got for a really good price, some one correct me if im wrong but i thought that the nexus couldnt handle anything over a class 4 card. Ive managed to fill up most of my card with my music and every so often a movie or 2. I can see the benifits of having a 32 gb card as that would allow me to have most of the music i love and still have plenty of space for a few movies and to take pics and what not. Im just waiting for the 32gb cards to come out with at least a class 4 card because ive heard that it can take a while to peer thru files on the 32gb class 2 cards.

    P.s.Poweramp really is the best thing out there for music on the android platform, its made me fall in love with my nexus all over again, im just hopping that 2.3 does improve on the music player and brings some of the functionality that poweramp offers.
     
  16. Retrospect Hero

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    5
    0
    25
    Haha reading this thread I was about to ask the same thing. I've had this 16gb card waiting to be used. Finally to rid myself of the ipod and convert to the nexus :D
     
  17. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    iPod (FAIL as music player (for me)) is quite "unique" in it's "ingenious" methods in "installing" (cause in my opp ,you install the music) mp3's on that ..."device" ,so i don't quite know if you can back-up your iPod to your android device...
     
  18. AnotherFatalEpic

    AnotherFatalEpic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010

    Jan 30, 2010
    484
    22
    38
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    What are you saying?!

    And on another note:

    Someone is offering me a Kingston 32GB Class 6 for $60. I haven't driven out to physically inspect the package yet, but as far as I know (or think I know) these aren't in production yet.

    What do you think? If the package looks legit, says Kingston, 32GB, and Class 6 on it... is it safe to buy?
     
  19. razvan06

    razvan06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    696
    89
    78
    Male
    ...who ?
    Bucharest
    chinese ppl are capable of copying anything ,so be carefull ... i say NO
     
    AnotherFatalEpic likes this.
  20. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    If it sounds way too good to be true...it might be is. If Kingston hasn't produced it yet then where is your person getting it? lol
     
    AnotherFatalEpic likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...