1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Largest microSD capacity on rooted Hero?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MadBrown, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. MadBrown

    MadBrown Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    105
    9
    36
    Baltimore, MD
    Can someone here tell me what is the largest capacity microSD card a rooted (CM6) Sprint Hero will take?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. chawski

    chawski Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    525
    36
    68
    i know it will run a 16g, not sure about 32. 16 should be more than you could ever need tho
     
    MadBrown likes this.
  3. MadBrown

    MadBrown Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    105
    9
    36
    Baltimore, MD
    Thanks, I agree that 16gb will be fine....especially coming from just 2gb. :)
     
  4. chawski

    chawski Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    525
    36
    68
    amazon has some 16g class 6 micro sd cards for like $40 right now. if you dont mind a class 2 or 4, they can be had even cheaper.

    I have a 8g right now and even with 5 or 6 nandorid backups and maybe a gig of music, im nowhere close to filling it
     
  5. MadBrown

    MadBrown Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    105
    9
    36
    Baltimore, MD
    What are the differences between the classes? Are the higher class cards faster?
     
  6. chawski

    chawski Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    525
    36
    68
    they are faster, but the speed diff is probably negligable at best on a phone. As far as I know, its only the speed at which it writes, not reads, so the only time you would really need a faster one is on a camera that allows multiple rapid shots. for a phones purpose, find one the size you want and whatever is cheapest, its probably a safe bet
     
  7. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Unless you are using apps2sd, the benefits of a faster card (class 4 or 6) are very minimal. And yes, 16g is the largest capacity the hero will run.
     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Joe,
    Still running 2GB, is it worth upgrading to a bigger card? I only keep 2 nandroids on my card and everything is running awesome.
     
  9. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    i have 8 gb and i only have 2 gbs left..been thinking of upgrading to a 16gb. 16gb is plenty!!
     
  10. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Your nandriods may fit on that card but chances are you'll get errors when trying to restore them with only that much space. If you wanna keep 2+ nandroids I'd recommend a bigger card just in case as the nandroids need lots of free space to restore properly.
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  11. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    +1
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  12. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I keep deleting things I don't need so I guess it's not important right now especially when the nightlies are only 55.3 mb. That's about the only thing I download
     
  13. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I try to stay above 500 mb, so that sort of thing does not happen. I looked for a while but once I found I was not having any issues with restoring nandroids and such, I quit looking
     
  14. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Yeah, I don't know the exact amount of free space needed to do a restore but I've had them fail when I had below like 450mb or so.
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  15. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Well if you say ballpark 450 mb, I will stay above 600 mb:D

    Thanks
     
  16. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Lol, exactly, no prob.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...