1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Last step question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pink, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. pink

    pink Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I am trying to root my HTC Eris, I am doing the Rooting for Dummies....I must really be a dummy. I wipe, and then zip from the SD card and my ROMs are not there... I have downloaded two different ROMs and neither show up... I have followed the directions to a T... and something is wrong at the last step :( Please help a dummy :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. LED

    LED Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    405
    65
    53
    Rochester, NY
    The ROMS (zip files) have to be at the root level (top level not in a folder) of your sdcard. Did you download the rom using the phone, or did you download them to your computer and transfer them to your phone?
     
  3. The Natural

    The Natural Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Are you sure you moved them to the root folder?
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    You're all set and ready to flash your first ROM, pink.

    As two others have advised, be sure you've not left the zip fil in a "downloads" or other folder (to put it another way: the folder itself will be residing on the root section of your card, the zip file just needs to be taken out of that folder and put there next to it, not in it ;)).
     
  5. mikey517

    mikey517 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    91
    9
    16
    ...and NOT to a folder named "root"....like "someone" did on their first try...duh!:p
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    .. and mikey .. I mean who ever did that admits it. ;)
     
  7. pink

    pink Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I downloaded them from my phone
     
  8. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    "Root folder" can throw off a n00by, though, and understandably. It's a "folder" that is not really a folder.. ok, it's a folder, but it's more like the one every other folder and file goes into on the sd card.
     
  9. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Connect your USB cable to the device and into the USB port of your computer, then have a look at the topmost folder to see if the ROM zip is there.

    If not, click the folder on the left where it's most likely to be and, once you find the zip by looking into those folders, drag the zip to the main, root folder.. that's where it's flashed from.
     
  10. pink

    pink Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    12
    0
    15

    Ok, moved them out of the Download file.. .Next question, do I need to restart the whole rooting process, or can I just restart, wipe, and load?
     
  11. mikey517

    mikey517 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    91
    9
    16
    I was "young".....I was stupid........careless......I was in love!!..

    wait..that was from a movie, I think.

    But that was then...in the old days.....even before 2.1......
    Today, I take nothing for granted...
     
  12. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    You're ready to go as long as that zip is now in your root folder. :)

    Shut down your device, go into recovery (volume up and power key held down until the screen comes back on) and, after wiping, select "flash from zip.."
     
  13. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    I just wanted to add: take your time.. especially when the device is booting for the very first time after the flash is finished.. it will take quite a while and it'll seem like it's locked up on one screen forever.. just wait. ;)

    Then, take the configuration slowly with a long pause between each step. It's a brand new operating system.. baby it for a while. :)
     
  14. LED

    LED Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    405
    65
    53
    Rochester, NY
    They will most likely be in your "downloads" folder then... you'll need to use a file manager like Astro or Estrongs to move the zip files to the root level. Or you can mount the phone to your PC and just move them that way.
     
  15. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    See post #10. ;)
     
  16. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    :D lol
     
  17. LED

    LED Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    405
    65
    53
    Rochester, NY
    Geez, this thread is moving like an F5 tornado.
     
  18. pink

    pink Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    12
    0
    15

    I have a Rooted phone folks! THANKS for everyones help!!!!
    :D

    Stayed tuned I may have other questions ;)
     
  19. pink

    pink Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Already a question...LOL

    Wheres my market??? How do I get apps back??


    (sorry guys normally I am really techy)
     
  20. LED

    LED Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    405
    65
    53
    Rochester, NY
    What rom did you flash?
     
  21. pink

    pink Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    KoasFroyo
     
  22. LED

    LED Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    405
    65
    53
    Rochester, NY
    The market should be there. Your apps on the other hand will be gone. You need to redownload those. If you plan to switch roms often, you might want to check out an app called TitaniumBackup. It will backup your apps so you can restore them.
     
  23. selvikin

    selvikin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    74
    3
    16
    LA/OC County, California
    Like LED said, the market should be there, unless you downloaded a ROM that has a seperate gapps zip(ie. CELB).
    Check the rom thread you downloaded from to see if they have another gapps file for your google apps.
    Then go and put that zip file into the "root" folder, and go back into recovery and just flash that file (do not wipe). Reboot and you should have it back.

    Titanium B/U is awesome because it saves your user data along with program(ie logins, handcent configs, etc.), plus when you go into market the first time after reboot, if you go to your downloads, you can re download all the stuff you had (it will show a list of free, not installed programs). If you go the market route, you wont have your user data.
     
  24. LED

    LED Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    405
    65
    53
    Rochester, NY
    If you had a lot of apps, and you really really don't want to re-download and re-configure them, then there is one thing you can do.

    If you followed the dummies tutorial, then you should have made a nand backup after rooting and before flashing Kaos. You can restore that backup, then download TitaniumBackup and do a backup of your apps+data. Then you can reflash Kaos and redownload Titanium and restore your apps.
     
  25. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,244
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,244
    23,430
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    +1 and lol! When I see or hear "F5" nowadays, I think "refresh web page" for AF! :eek: :D :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...