1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Latest 2.1Leak SMS Vibrations Stopped.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pkopalek, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    I am baffled, here.

    The latest 2.1 Leak here, on said phone.

    ChompSMS, suddenly, won't vibrate for incoming texts. Strange. Vibrate Always is checked. A vibration type is checked.

    Test notification. No vibration. Receive an sms. No vibration. Reboot phone. No vibration.

    Odd. Receive a call. Vibrates JUST like it should.

    Haptic feedback vibrates just like it should.

    Tried: Phone on Vibrate ONLY. No vibration whatsoever.

    Reinstall ChompSMS. No vibration.
    Try Stock Messages notifications. No vibration.
    Try Handcent SMS. No vibration.

    I can't, for the life of me, understand why his notifications aren't vibrating. I've spent twenty minutes with the phone playing with this.

    I'm baffled.

    ChompSMS was vibrating yesterday. Suddenly today, No such luck.

    Without going to a Hard Reset (I feel like there's a setting somewhere I'm not finding somehow), I'm trying to solve this problem.

    Anyone else experience this, or have any suggestions?

    Edit:

    UPDATED:

    ALL Notifications are failing to vibrate. When Mail is set to vibrate when a new mail is received, it fails to vibrate as well.

    Even the Alarm Clock SUCCESSFULLY vibrates.

    Just NO notifications.
     

    Advertisement

  2. DoodleD

    DoodleD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    80
    8
    16
    Eastern PA
    I have the same problem. Anyone have a fix?
     
  3. Roaddog

    Roaddog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    200
    28
    43
    This was an issue for some of us with the first leak as well. We never figured out what caused it, but the ONLY thing that seemed to fix it was a factory reset. Sucks, I know. Worked for me though, and the issue hasn't cropped up again.
     
  4. tee00max

    tee00max Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    142
    3
    56
    High Point, NC
    yup factory reset..I went through the same thing with the old 2.1 leak.
     
  5. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    Unfortunately, this is the latest 2.1 Leak.

    And yes, a factory reset (unfortunately!) is what was necessary to fix it!

    Something must get changed in Settings in a way that can't be unchanged. We can't figure it out! I hope that they fix it by the real OTA!
     
  6. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    And, I guess I should note, that with multiple people having this problem, this might as well go in the Bugs & Fixes thread. Obviously, that it's a Bug, and not a Fix, but it could be noted.
     
  7. Eris Lover

    Eris Lover Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    289
    16
    58
    New Mexico
    +1

    Hasn't happened again to me but until we find out what caused it....I guess it could.
     
  8. refthemc

    refthemc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    167
    8
    36
    Los Angeles, CA
    Same bug here...
     
  9. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    After your reset, did you go back to Chomp or did you stay on the native app? I had the same problem so after my factory reset I did not reinstall Chomp...
     
  10. twixxy010

    twixxy010 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    24
    0
    35
    Jersey Shore
    I had this same exact problem and when I figured out why it wasn't working I felt reeeeally stupid....anyways, do you have a program like Setting Profiles or EAR installed? It turns out that in Setting Profiles, I had the Vibrate for Notifications unchecked. Whoops. :eek:
     
  11. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    twixxy, I can't speak for others, but what happened to me had nothing to do with a "profile app"... SMS in both the native app and Chomp stopped vibrating out of the blue. I actually left all my system settings in tact. All I did was use Chomp instead and change the volume one level.

    The first test txt I sent from my other phone worked, then I lowered the volume a little bit and sent another and vibrate was gone. Switched back to the native app and it was still not vibrating.

    I would be curious if any of the others went back to Chomp after their factory reset?
     

Share This Page

Loading...