1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Latest i9100 modems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Shotgun84, Jan 25, 2012.

  1. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,609
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,609
    5,824
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    :D:D:D

    Blimey! I forgot that you were the OP!!! :eek:

    Think you should remove the stuff in brackets in case it confuses new members. :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Twinn

    Twinn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    820
    261
    113
    Male
    Ireland
    Thx for as always superb fast modem upload :) Lads.... what would i do with my S2 without You ? :D GJ!
     
  3. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,609
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,609
    5,824
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Errr... probably have a decent working phone I would guess! ;)

    On a more serious note... if that's possible, this modem is showing, for me, a better signal than any of the previous versions so far. Obviously it will require more time and testing... but looking good!
     
  4. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Lps seems good for me so far also, but unfortunately for me I do not have a convenient black spot drinking establishment in order to partake "testing"
     
  5. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,609
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,609
    5,824
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    What! Shotty's got his mates garden for drinking beer and testing. I've got the Twilight Zone pub. Purely for research purposes, you could shuttle between us. Mine's a large one! ;)
     
  6. Twinn

    Twinn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    820
    261
    113
    Male
    Ireland
    Just testing tonight at work where i have few blackspots, so will see but atm all good.
     
  7. iT0mm0

    iT0mm0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    296
    127
    68
    Coventry
  8. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,609
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,609
    5,824
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
  9. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Twinn likes this.
  10. iT0mm0

    iT0mm0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    296
    127
    68
    Coventry
    :eek:

    ill go get ready for work :D
     
  11. lotsip81

    lotsip81 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    234
    37
    63
    I was wondering if you can explain this to me.

    Why is it, if my phone is in airplane mode, does network signal info still show me a full signal strength. I was trying an array of modems, the one doing this is LP7.

    It doesn't to this with any of the other modems I have flashed.... LPQ, LPH, or LPS. With those, if I am in airplane mode, it show I have no reception.

    So what I an wondering is should I trust the results for signal strength that LP7 is showing me????


    SC20120408-190959.png

    SC20120408-191024.png
     
  12. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Was it reporting +85 dbm by any chance?
     
  13. lotsip81

    lotsip81 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    234
    37
    63
    It does indeed do the +85, but that's not what I am referring to.

    I just got the picture attached in my post above. You'll see it shows I have full service, while in airplane mode.
     
  14. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,096
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,096
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    its already been discussed on this thread. NSI does not work correctly with certain modems. It even tells you this when you run NSI for the first time on such modems. On these modems, NSI will give incorrect data, always reporting +85 dbm, which is an impossibly perfect signal
     
  15. lotsip81

    lotsip81 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    234
    37
    63
    Ahhh, well its my mistake then. I thought what people were referring to was the actually text of +85 at the bottom/graph. I didn't realize that people were referring to the actual service strength bars during the phones operation.
     
  16. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,316
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,316
    4,265
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Kie and Twinn like this.
  17. Twinn

    Twinn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    820
    261
    113
    Male
    Ireland
    Shotty is it a newer version than LPS?
     
  18. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,316
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,316
    4,265
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I was debating that one with ironass. I know there was an LP6 modem a while back but that was xx or xw. I have a feeling it might be newer as the other lp6 was from about 4 months ago so I can't see Vodafone using that in their new ics build.
     
    Twinn likes this.
  19. Twinn

    Twinn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    820
    261
    113
    Male
    Ireland
    Thx Shotty :) that's best modem for me so far! Comparing to LPS, i dont lose connection while on 3G and web pages load way faster!
     
  20. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,609
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,609
    5,824
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Having used BULP6 over the weekend, because I am a Vodafone customer on a generic firmware, I have to say that it was not quite as good as LPS for me in terms of signal strength.

    Looking back to my screenshots and data from January, when I had the LP6 modem installed, they are identical.

    The crunch for me came at my favourite testing ground, the Twilight Zone pub, when, although it connected to the network, it was weaker than the readings that I previously had from LPS.

    The signal strength difference is not major but more noticeable in bad signal areas. So, back on LPS... until Shotty pulls his finger out! ;)
     
    Twinn likes this.
  21. eirikdh

    eirikdh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011

    Jul 5, 2011
    57
    4
    16
  22. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,316
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,316
    4,265
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
     
    eirikdh likes this.
  23. Forbidden 403

    Forbidden 403 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    291
    63
    53
    Male
    India
    You are on LPS modem, it is one of the latest modems and some people actually say that it is the best one till date.

    If you want to flash a modem, you can install the zip file via CWM recovery if you have a flashable zip, or you can flash one via Odin (use the baseband/radio/modem section can't recall at the moment).
     
    eirikdh likes this.
  24. eirikdh

    eirikdh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011

    Jul 5, 2011
    57
    4
    16
    See many talk warm about, radio-cm-9-SGS2-LP6-signed and
    radio-cm-9-SGS2-LPB. Aren
     
  25. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,609
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,609
    5,824
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
     
    eirikdh likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...