1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Latest Radio

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by revel, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. revel

    revel Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009

    Aug 11, 2009
    50
    6
    16
    Shropshire
    What is the latest radio for the gsm hero.
    Also where can i find it.
    Thabks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    The most recent I can find is 63.18.55.06S_6.35.17.03, available here.
     
  3. bzzzzz

    bzzzzz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    155
    2
    36
    teacher
    uk
    is that a radio for gsm hero in the uk?

    I notice some people saying it is for telus (I think telus is a network operator in canada).

    i'm not flashing it till someone tells me it's awesome
     
  4. smakme7757

    smakme7757 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Ok i flashed this latest radio and it seems to be working well. The GPS works fine and i get max signal strength with my carrier here in Norway (Netcom). Wireless signal is also quite good.

    I guess i have nothing bad to say about this Radio, but then again it's the first radio i have ever flashed =D

    I just wish Google would fix the market!
     
  5. bzzzzz

    bzzzzz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    155
    2
    36
    teacher
    uk
    ok

    anyone from the uk flashed this.

    do we notice improvements?
     
  6. smakme7757

    smakme7757 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    If you looked through the thread which slug linked you will see a few people frmo the UK giving positive feedback.

    **
    **
    **
    ect....

    A little bit of reading goes a long way..
     
  7. bzzzzz

    bzzzzz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    155
    2
    36
    teacher
    uk
    yep sorry i was a bit lazy.

    some good comments, but also the odd negative one, where some people thinks it gives random reboots.

    I'll give it a whirl and report back.
     
  8. revel

    revel Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009

    Aug 11, 2009
    50
    6
    16
    Shropshire
    Been running this now on Virgin UK.
    Seems to hold signal better in low signal areas and gps seems quicker to lock on.
     
  9. phillevy

    phillevy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009

    Aug 27, 2009
    501
    15
    63
    Ongar, UK
    I flashed this last night (Orange UK) and so far it is certainly no worse!
     
  10. will65mcmanus

    will65mcmanus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    135
    4
    36
    forgot how to flash the radio ive done it in the past anyone can please refresh me lol
     
  11. smakme7757

    smakme7757 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    1. Boot into Recovery mode (Home+Power on) and flash the zip.
    2. When told to do so press Home+Back to reboot the phone.
    3. You should get a new screen after the reboot with an image and some arrows or something like that; Let it do its thing. It will reboot by its self **Do Not Remove The Battery**.

    Once it reboots back into recovery mode you should see it say

    Formatting cache.....

    Which never goes away, so once you can navigate the menu (usually after a few seconds) just press Reboot and load up your OS. You can view the radio update in 'about phone'
     
  12. will65mcmanus

    will65mcmanus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    135
    4
    36
    ahhh now i remember :) much appreciated m8
     
  13. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    I would throw in a wipe of the cache + dalvik cache, it's probably ok without it but it can't hurt.

    I put this on yesterday and it doesn't seem to be noticeably different to the previous one on T-Mobile UK.
     
  14. smakme7757

    smakme7757 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    I actually had some problems with the new Radio in the start. It would drop out a lot after coming back from sleep. Anyhow i ended up doing a full wipe and reinstalling the rom again and now it works a treat.

    Although i can't say if it's any better than the stock radio (i've never flashed the radio before) seeing as i never looked at signal strength all that much.
     
  15. bzzzzz

    bzzzzz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    155
    2
    36
    teacher
    uk
    ok flashed this radio.
    don't really notice the difference, although i would say that it finds wifi and gps quickly.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...