1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Launcher Force Close loop after 3.1.0.2 update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Shadax, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. Shadax

    Shadax Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    65
    8
    16
    I rooted my managers phone and gave her 0.5.3 back when it was the standard fresh rom. Well last night she used fresh updater I believe to go to 3.1.0.2, which I know requires a wipe but she isn't exactly savvy on all of this.

    In any event, after the update the phone does not load the launcher. Upon unlocking the phone it is stuck in the com.htc.launcher has stopped unexpectedly. And after force close it loops this error.

    I can only see the lock screen or access the phone's SD card from my PC, I can change options such as "charge only" "disk drive" "usb debugging" but that's about it. Other than that I can get to Amon Ra recovery.

    What are my options for helping her out with this?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    I'm a firm believer in doing all updates directly from the recovery image. Why? So you know how to do it if the OS is busted. That's also where you can do nandroid backups and restores manually. Updater apps might be convenient, but it screws you completely when something goes wrong because it shelters you from knowing what to do in a pinch... So... don't use them unless you know how to do things the manual way, which is what needs to happen here.

    Boot into recovery, do a wipe, and re-flash the ROM. it should fix it. If not, hopefully there's a recent working nandroid backup that can be restored.... If not, wipe and flash any known previously working ROM.

    Once working, explain to her how to use the recovery image.
     
  3. uminchu

    uminchu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    525
    134
    93
    It's recoverable.

    If you have a nandroid backup, restore to a previously functional state. I would suggest in your case, the full version of Titanium backup is worth every penny and more (around $5). It can backup all the apps, settings, wi-fi connections, BT pairings, etc. Backup the phone, wipe everything including Dalvik, flash Fresh 3102 again, then restore everything with Titanium.

    If you don't have the nandroid backup, go back into Amon, wipe everything, flash Fresh, redo the settings and reinstall the apps from scratch.
     
  4. Shadax

    Shadax Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    65
    8
    16
    I was kinda hoping to not have to do a full wipe, but if that's what I gotta do that's what I gotta do.

    Thanks guys
     
  5. uminchu

    uminchu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    525
    134
    93
    You should always wipe when changing an OS version, forwards or back, and quite often between different ROMs of the same version.

    Fresh053 was 2.1 and she flashed to a 2.2, so whichever way you go, you'll need to wipe. Checking out new ROMs is fun, but wiping comes with the territory. Titanium is your friend.
     
  6. Shadax

    Shadax Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    65
    8
    16
    Yeah I guess it was a common sense thing, I guess I was just trying to get her phone at least in working order.

    We wiped and re did everything with 3.1.0.2.

    Now the voicemail keeps nagging about an "optional upgrade" but fails on installation. Why would this be?

    Edit: Nvm, I think the update can be worked around in Fresh Updater
     
  7. uminchu

    uminchu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    525
    134
    93
    Flipz has a fix, but he wants you to update Fresh Updater and flash from there.

    Update: Sprint Visual Voice 5.1.0.34

    I agree with Novox' advice on doing things manually until you fully understand the steps, but in this case, I don't see a file posted to flash manually. I'm not currently running a Fresh ROM in order to d/l the update and give it to you, so read through Flipz' instructions and give it a go.

    Caution: Please create a new nandroid backup of 3102 before you touch the updater, then make another one if the update goes well.
     
  8. uminchu

    uminchu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    525
    134
    93
  9. tardmobile

    tardmobile Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    197
    47
    43
    MSFT GHD
    make sure that your manager understands that in the future they need to be doing a nandroid backup before they flash new ROMs

    If they had just made a backup they wouldn't be in this mess.
     
    novox77 likes this.
  10. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    ROMs that require wipes means that you need to do two backups before you flash:

    1) nandroid backup, so you can recover fully to your previous state if the flash goes wrong

    2) app backup if the flash goes right and you want to keep the new version. This way, you don't have to manually download and install your apps, and configure all your settings, etc.

    Make it a habit.
     
  11. Shadax

    Shadax Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    65
    8
    16
    I told her not to touch anything period; she didn't listen lol.

    Wasn't much of a mess, luckily. Just wiped the phone, reflashed, then set her stuff back up. Took no mroe than 20 minutes.

    She figured it would be harmless to update I guess. In any event, I showed her Titanium Backup as well as creating a NAND backup in Amon Ra recovery to prevent this from happening again.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...