1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Launcher issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tommyg3549, Oct 14, 2017.

  1. tommyg3549

    tommyg3549 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017

    Oct 14, 2017
    6
    0
    5
    I've started using the new Microsoft launcher but when I open my Pixel in the morning, most times, it has gone back to the native Google launcher.
    Any suggestions as to how I stop this please?
    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,966
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,966
    35,411
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Try going to menu>apps>google now launcher and tap on the 'defaults' setting and clear defaults. The next time you start your phone it should prompt you for which launcher you want to use as default.
     
  3. tommyg3549

    tommyg3549 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017

    Oct 14, 2017
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks for the reply
    I've gone into settings > apps but not the Google now launcher (there is Pixel launcher but that says it's disabled)
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,966
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,966
    35,411
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Oh, right they changed that. But, if it's disabled, i'm not sure which launcher is coming back on you. Do you have any other launchers installed?
     
  5. tommyg3549

    tommyg3549 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017

    Oct 14, 2017
    6
    0
    5
    No all I have is Microsoft new launcher and the pixel one (which is the one that pops up). The Microsoft launcher had an update last night - maybe you have to re-authorise it as the default launcher because of this
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,966
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,966
    35,411
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You shouldn't have to. When you say the Pixel Launcher "pops up" what exactly happens?
     
  7. tommyg3549

    tommyg3549 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017

    Oct 14, 2017
    6
    0
    5
    When I went to bed last night the default was the Microsoft launcher. This morning it was the Pixel launcher
     
  8. tommyg3549

    tommyg3549 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017

    Oct 14, 2017
    6
    0
    5
    I have emailed the developer team to see if they have any comments
     
  9. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,966
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,966
    35,411
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    That's bizarre. I've never had a launcher update change the defaults. The only thing I can think of would be that the Microsoft launcher still says 'beta' so an update to a release version would make your phone think its a different launcher altogether.
     
    tommyg3549 likes this.
  10. tommyg3549

    tommyg3549 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017

    Oct 14, 2017
    6
    0
    5
    That is a good point
     
  11. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    8,777
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,777
    10,146
    1,563
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    I generally find that I get prompted to set the default launcher again when my third-party launcher gets an update. I'm betting that's what happened here.
     
    Highwayman, lunatic59 and tommyg3549 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...