1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Launcher Pro lagging with GB?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mrfixitx, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. mrfixitx

    mrfixitx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    30
    4
    16
    Is anyone else experiencing lag with Launcher Pro on GB?

    I am running the stock non rooted GB update that just came out? With Launcher Pro I am experiencing home screen redraws when exiting applications and occasional lag when moving in between screens. I have zero lag and no home screen redraws when using the stock blur launcher with the same amount of widgets and icons.

    I have tried limiting launcher pro to 5 screens and have tried various memory settings with no apparent difference.

    Would removing the widgets from the blur launcher make any difference? My understanding is it would not but I am not an expert so any suggestions are appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #242
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    464
    32
    63
    Earth
    I reloaded it fresh from Android market after teh GB update and my LPP is flying. I have a live wallpaper going and it's still flipping between home screens like a cheetah on speed...

    Might try to remove and redownload it?
     
  3. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #242
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    464
    32
    63
    Earth
    Where you able to get to your Blur Launcher with LPP installed??
     
  4. square

    square Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    506
    24
    63
    i had redraws and had to do the ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 fix.
     
  5. novemberwhiskey

    novemberwhiskey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    491
    43
    43
    I have the same problems. Glad I am not alone. Don't know why everyone is saying GB is so much better. Phone was definitely faster with Froyo for me.
     
  6. mrfixitx

    mrfixitx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    30
    4
    16
    The phone is much faster with GB than it was before. I had not downloaded LP until after the GB update.

    With LP installed I could not get to my blur launcher unless there is some trick to doing so that I am not aware of.

    I am running ADW at the moment and its okay with only a few redraws occasionally but I would prefer LP.
     
  7. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #242
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    464
    32
    63
    Earth
    Hey mrfixitx, I got a tip yesterday in another thread because I was having that exact same problem about being able to get into Blur.. download Home Switcher from the App Market.. it lets you access both and even lets you pick which one you want for default.

    novemberwhiskey, when my update came through, Blur itself was only marginally faster so I was kind of thinking the same thing, but I installed LPP and it is like insanely crazy faster.
     
  8. CPR

    CPR Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    125
    13
    38
    It must be something on your phone. Mine was a slow POS with stock Froyo. It is extremely fast now with P3Droid's pre-root GB. Every aspect of the phone is faster, from switching between home screens, accessing apps, typing, etc. There is little-to-no lag anywhere on the phone now, and I'm using the stock launcher. I wasn't terribly impressed with Go Launcher EX.
     
  9. Pfilly

    Pfilly Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    348
    28
    63
    Sales Director:OnTime1405.com
    Wisconsin by way of Philadelphia
    My best guess is that LP hasn't been coded for qHD screens yet. I also believe it was last written for froyo so maybe the dev. (Fernando Carnales) has to update it.
     
  10. Doubledee90

    Doubledee90 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Im having serious redraw issues with Launcher Pro also. I was having them with Go Launcher too. Jus got this Droid X2 and never had these issues on my Droid X
     
  11. roy5000x2

    roy5000x2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    77
    12
    18
    Boston
    Yeah my Launcher Pro is running pretty slow with a lot of redraws as well.

    Is this in the local.prop file in /data? Also do you have a link to a thread or something that gives more detail on this?
     
  12. Pfilly

    Pfilly Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    348
    28
    63
    Sales Director:OnTime1405.com
    Wisconsin by way of Philadelphia
    Turned off elastic scrolling and messed around with some setting and its pretty smooth. Not perfect but much better than stock settings. I also added a 5th row to the homescreen giving it a much better look than 4 rows IMHO.
     
  13. fastpicker89

    fastpicker89 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    171
    11
    38
    LP is the only real change I've seen in GB. It's working way better for me... and it already was good. Now I can use the cool transitions without lagging, so I do. It's so much more fun. But no, no lagging for LP for me. New other issues... sometimes faulty pinch zooming, other small glitches. But not with LP.
     
  14. Doubledee90

    Doubledee90 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    So everyone who is saying that LPP is smooth and everything, does it still redraw? Mine runs super smooth until I use a memory intensive app then i get mad redraws.
     
  15. roy5000x2

    roy5000x2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    77
    12
    18
    Boston
    I've been noticing that I'll get a redraw after LPP has used a good 50 MB of ram or so.
     
  16. Doubledee90

    Doubledee90 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    its pretty disappointing that third party launchers arent working well with this phone. I just switched from the Droid X and it always worked well with third party launchers even with gingerbread. Also even though the X2 has a dual core processor the stock launcher can be pretty slow at times.
     
  17. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #242
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    464
    32
    63
    Earth
    I have the elastic and some other animation set for my LPP and seriously it switches so fast I barely even see the transition. For me it is fast as greased lightning
     
  18. roy5000x2

    roy5000x2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    77
    12
    18
    Boston
    Removing the LPP widgets from my launcher fixed a lot of the lag that I got. I was using Facebook and calendar. Even just having one of them in a screen slowed down the launcher a lot. Unfortunately, this didn't fix the redraws.
     

Share This Page

Loading...