1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

LauncherPro has disappeared from my Droid?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by RenaissanceMan, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. RenaissanceMan

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I just discovered something very strange. I had installed LauncherPro from the Market a couple of weeks ago to try it out on my Moto Droid, and was able to run it by selecting its icon from my list of apps in my app drawer. I recently downloaded an update for it, and now it no longer shows up in my app drawer. If I go to Settings:Applications:Manage Applications it shows LauncherPro as being installed... However, it is nowhere to be found. I have tried uninstalling it and reinstalling it twice using Manage Applications, but to no avail.

    Has anyone else experienced this? Is this a problem with LauncherPro or my phone? None of my other installed applications have icons that have disappeared like this before, fwiw.

    Thanks in advance-
     

    Advertisement

  2. othgar

    othgar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    106
    6
    36
    NJ
    It doesn't show up in my app drawer either. Moto Droid not rooted.
     
  3. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    I started using LauncherPro at version 0.3.0, and it DID appear in the app drawer. Version 0.4.3 does not appear in the app drawer.
     
  4. RenaissanceMan

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I just received a reply in another forum that stated that this was intentional, reason being most launcher programs do not display icons... If this is the case, how do you run them initially if you can't select them from your apps? Is there a system setting on the Droid that allows you to choose between launcher app options? Thanks for the help... I'm still a noob with Android stuff. :)
     
  5. applejosh

    applejosh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    30
    3
    36
    On mine if I press the home button, it asks me if I want to use the launcher or launcher pro. Alternately, you can use HomeSwitcher to specify which launcher to use as the default.

    Sent from my Nexus One
     
  6. RenaissanceMan

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Thanks-

    I ended up installing Home Switcher and I'm able to toggle between them now. In older versions, it used to also give me the option of choosing either launcher as default, but for whatever reason I'm not given that choice anymore.

    Thanks again-
     
  7. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    You just need to go to manage applications and clear defaults in all Home apps you have there. This prompt which one to use will reappear then.
     

Share This Page

Loading...