1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Leak and OTA ???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Aly07, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. Aly07

    Aly07 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    OK so I have leak v3 on my Eris...My phone broke the other day, they didn't notice that it had leak so they replaced it with a refurb. I can't quite figure this out and sorry if this sounds stupid to most of you but... Since I have the leak on my SD card, will the new refurb run the leak or the OTA?? I don't care either way, I just need to know for future reference.

    Thanks,
    A Droid Moron!
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,241
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,241
    23,426
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    No worries...the v3 2.1 leak and the official 2.1 OTA are identical. There have been a couple of analyses that have adequately addressed this:

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/78692-checksum-proof-2-1-leak-v3-99-identical-ota-2-1-a.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/80876-difference-between-leaked-2-1-offical-2-1-a.html

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=717668
     
  3. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    Might not want to have that ZIP file of the 2.1 leak on the card though. Besides, it's just taking up space.
     
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,241
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,241
    23,426
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Hey, I just re-read your post / question and I'm not sure we exactly answered the question you were asking. Do you want to know what software version the refurb came with? If so, here's the thread that will answer your question.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/87118-reference-what-htc-rom-do-i-have.html

    ...and sorry for not catching this in the first place.
     
  5. mortymouse

    mortymouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    246
    24
    38
    Yep. Delete that .zip file for sure. Also, if you want root check and see what version of the boot loader you have on the "new" phone. If its 1.47 you can root the phone unlike most of us.
     
  6. McZimi

    McZimi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    yeah delete that right now. if you put 1.49 on there your screwed
     

Share This Page

Loading...