1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Leaked 2.1 or Waiting for OTA?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Frisco, Mar 4, 2010.

?

Leaked 2.1 or Waiting for OTA?

  1. Trying the Leaked 2.1 right away

    37.7%
  2. Waiting for the OTA

    62.3%
  1. AdmSuvvuk

    AdmSuvvuk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    355
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    355
    45
    43
    Editor-In-Chief for Creative Media Resources
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Can I cancel out my vote? LOL. We are a two Eris family. I upgraded one, and left the other one alone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,680
    886
    313
    Jacksonville, Fl
    I leaked, and I'm glad I did. So far not a single problem. Nav alone is worth the upgrade, all the other tweaks are just a bonus.
     
  3. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    there isn't an undecided? I will most likely install this weekend, I just didn't want to do it because then I wouldnt be able to put the thing down and there is work to do families to not ignore etc. I finally got the phone how I liked it and not sure if I'm ready to blow those settings out yet. Now if I heard the OTA was gonna come out next week I'd just wait....
    I'll put it on mine and leave the wife's alone for a while.
     
  4. snorge

    snorge Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    337
    14
    38
    wow I was a little bit nervous about doing it but I am sure glad I did. People aren't exaggerating when they say the phone is faster it feels like it is running on completely different hardware. I had previously been running OpenHome which seemed to speed things up some on 1.5 but even with Sense enabled everything is much snappier now. I won't have a chance to play with everything til later but the install only took about 5 minutes then the initial setup about another 3. I backed up all my old apps first but will most likely just download them again from the new market if possible and see what else is available that perhaps wasn't before for 1.5 If the official one doesn't come out in the next day or so I highly recommend everyone do it.
     
  5. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    I'll wait... and practice my patience...lol
     
  6. enkode

    enkode Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    63
    1
    36
    Without hesitation it was installed. No regrets.
     
  7. chassum

    chassum Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    215
    20
    58
    software QA automation
    TX
    let's see, I NEED:
    - exchange activesync
    - USAA banking
    - google nav
    - text to speech
    - the vOICe for android

    but I've deciede to hold out just.. a... little... longer.
     
  8. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,476
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Have the other family member join here and vote in the poll.
     
  9. Shnuddy

    Shnuddy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    193
    14
    58
    Can I change my vote? I gave in and took the plunge :eek:
     
  10. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,476
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Start another account. Perhaps, "Shnooddy."

    Vote again. Also, use that account to argue with Shnuddy about 2.1.
     
  11. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,689
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,689
    8,368
    813
    Right Behind You
    One odd thing that I have noticed with the upgrade to 2.1 is that I actually have more free memory than I did before. The only app I was unable to reinstall was Weather Bug Elite and I have actually installed a few more that were not available before. On 1.5 my memory would stay around 65 Mb, but with 2.1 I am sitting at about 90 Mb right now. Just counted and I have 30 3rd party apps installed.
     
  12. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,476
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Cool.

    Along the lines of free memory, I've been wondering how much of 1.5 can be removed, or is replaced by 2.1.
     
  13. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,689
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,689
    8,368
    813
    Right Behind You
    Well, with the leaked upgrade (I imagine with the OTA too) the whole OS is replaced. So really everything is replaced.

    I also remember having 159 Mb free memory when I originally bought the Eris. When I checked after the 2.1 upgrade, I noticed that I had 143 Mb.
     
  14. the208

    the208 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    116
    10
    38
    Washington
    I'm going to hold off for a week or two, and see what materializes in the form of either an OTA version, or give the leaked version some time to work out any potential bugs and glitches.
     
  15. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,476
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Smart.

    And, smart as it is, I dare say I am glad there are many who are not doing that and have instead installed this 2.1 leak, otherwise the mentioned issues would be hidden from our view.
     
  16. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,689
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,689
    8,368
    813
    Right Behind You
    Everyone should keep in mind that many of us doubt that 2.1 is the source of these problems. The original was corrupt and needed to be patched to install. Some of the problems people are seeing may be due to the patch and not the OS itself.
     
  17. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,476
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    That could be the hope.

    I'm wondering, though, why that information has not dissuaded you and other intelligent Eris users from actually installing the leaked and patched 2.1.
     
  18. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,689
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,689
    8,368
    813
    Right Behind You
    I knew it wouldn't void my warranty and I could simply exchange it for another if it messed up my phone. That is just me though. I don't think most of us knew there would be a problem with the patch when it was first uploaded.
     
  19. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,212
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,212
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    its one of 2 things really

    the patch hosed something in the package

    or

    user error in installing the package somehow hosed something
     
  20. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    well i voted since my phone is in the middle of updating right now
     
  21. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,689
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,689
    8,368
    813
    Right Behind You
    How can you have user error on something that basically requires pressing one button?
     
  22. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,476
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    [​IMG]
     
  23. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,212
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,212
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    did you see all the threads/posts asking for help? OMG it's frozen, it rebooted and i have nothing, what button do i push? i pushed a button and now i have a triangle, etc, etc.
     
  24. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,689
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,689
    8,368
    813
    Right Behind You
    Ok, good point.
     
  25. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,680
    886
    313
    Jacksonville, Fl
    I'm a computer programmer for a living, I can tell you for certain that users are far better at erroring than anyone gives them credit for. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...