1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Leaked 2.1 RUU Issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MDLS, May 9, 2010.

  1. MDLS

    MDLS Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Hey there,

    Just signed up to give some potential feedback.
    I have an HTC Hero from Sprint, and today updated it to the leaked 2.1 ROM that's been around for a while.

    Having only a couple of issues;

    • The GPS locator finds me 500 miles off the coast of Western Africa, whereas I'm on the east coast of the USA.
    • I sometimes don't receive calls, messages, voicemails, and if I do, they're delayed (the latter two).

    Of course I am fully aware this is a buggy version, and expected bugs. If anyone had these issues and could insight, I'd appreciate it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. MDLS

    MDLS Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Because of these issues, I'm in the process of trying to flash over to another 2.1 custom ROM. I did not custom root beforehand, but as I understand, the 2.1 leaked RUU is also rooted.

    If anyone has any input also on how to help me with this, that'd be great too.
     
  3. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    737
    65
    78
    New York
  4. bill t

    bill t Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    74
    4
    16
    You need to turn on the GPS: go to settings/location.

    I used the 2.1 RUU leak for a few hours previously, but didn't noticed any message delays worse than the stock or mod 2.1's.
     
  5. bstep01

    bstep01 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    45
    6
    16
    Kansas City
    I also just turned mine on and it was stuck briefly on the location that I was traveling to on Friday...it sync'd back to my location in about 2 minutes or so...
     
  6. MDLS

    MDLS Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    The GPS is on, yet West Africa is where it's finding me..
    It also can't seem to find the timezone of my phone so I have to manually edit that; perhaps somewhat related.

    My main issue is the delay in messages and the fact phone calls aren't coming through.
     
  7. Roman G.

    Roman G. No-Posting Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    539
    261
    113
    Oregon
    me2u69 likes this.
  8. jonathan76888

    jonathan76888 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    194
    22
    38
    philadelphia
    1st.reboot your phone
    2nd. Redo the RUU
    3.rd remember that when you doing the RUU, to close all the programs on your computer!!!
     
  9. A_Guy

    A_Guy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    25
    4
    16
    When I switched to 2.1 RUU I also had to do this after I installed it. Broke my bootloader.

    But after I did that process I haven't had any issues with it. I love it. Except that when dealing with the dialer it's really slow sometimes..strange because this is supposed to be a phone first and foremost and that's what works the worst :p
     
  10. xbrokdikdogx

    xbrokdikdogx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    362
    45
    43
    one thing I think a lot of folks don't realize is that the Hero isn't going to get all the bells and whistles when 2.1 drops. The RUU shows us that HTC plans on giving us a dumbed down sense to go along with the update, supposedly since the Hero's hardware isn't good enough. So if you run the RUU if you plan on getting any of the more advanced things that are out or coming out you need to expect to put some work into it. When I ran the RUU first thing I did was root the phone again using the standard way so it is easier to get other things going. Installed busybox so I had all the commands I would need to work from the shell. Install autokiller and set it to aggressive or extreme. It's not like a task killer, it doesn't run in the background it merely resets the settings for memory management at every reboot. This really helps out, and it also has a process manager in it so if you need to open it up and kill something you can.

    Also, if you run the RUU then you have all the sprint crap installed again. So you need to remove the bloatware and that will really help make your phone run right. I'm not sure about the issues the OP had, I ran the RUU from when it came out until yesterday and it really was an excellent experience. Now that it has been out for a month though it is getting a little long in the tooth. If you really want to experience 2.1 with all the bells and whistles you should check out some of the custom ROMs. While I really liked the RUU when it first came out, there now seems to be much better solutions. I decided to test Aloysius 2.07 yesterday and now I am pretty sure I am going to keep this one on here. While you can install live wall papers and many of the other fun things on the RUU, unless you know what you are doing and plan on spending time to do the fixes yourself it is better to pass up the RUU from now on. Or at least IMO.
     
  11. thefley

    thefley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #336
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    346
    26
    63
    Oklahoma
    I have it and have not had any issues
     
  12. xbrokdikdogx

    xbrokdikdogx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    362
    45
    43
    Like you I really didn't experience any issues with the RUU. My phone pretty much worked the way I expected it to. However, now that the leak is a month old it really doesn't seem as nice or flashy as the solution you can get from the custom ROMs. The 2.1 that the Hero is getting is supposed to be kinda stripped down, and the RUU showed this as well. While many people complain about the Hero lagging, on 1.5 and 2.1, I have not had these issues myself. An example of Hero 2.1, HTC supposedly is not giving us live wallpapers in Sense, probably not in a home replacement either. The leaked RUU didn't have it but I was able to get live wallpapers running smooth so I am not sure why HTC says our Hero doesn't have the power for them. So if you install the RUU now and want live wallpapers you have a lot of steps to take to get this. Most of the custom ROMs actually have live wallpapers already so much less work to do.

    Oh, and of course the 2.1 Market has a lot more apps. While I understand the drawbacks of apps2sd I got tired of deleting apps because I found something new I wanted/needed. If you want apps2sd on the RUU you will have to make your own boot image that loads them at startup. Someone at xda was helping me with this but his didn't work. So if I shut my phone off it would boot loop when I started it until I could plug into my laptop and start the apps2sd through the shell. Anyway, I am just trying to let everyone know that there is more to Android 2.1 than you will get from either the leaked RUU or the final version that Sprint will release. In order to get all the benefits of 2.1, which now includes JIT, the only real option is to either make your own custom ROM or to try one of the other ones available.
     
    thefley likes this.
  13. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    1,642
    375
    163
    I do some stuff and get paid for it...that's all t
    Dallas/Fort Worth
    My main complaint is serious lag on the part of the dialer. I hit end call and it takes so long to show the call actually ending that I finally hit the button again. Only to find it starts dialing the number again when it catches up with itself.

    Another one I noticed is that if you use a task killer to close Google Maps the next time you open it the program will act as if it's a brand new phone by showing you all the new features and having to login to latitude again.

    Pinch/Zoom in the browser is horrible. I drag my fingers apart and the area will zoom in but as soon as I release my touch it goes right back to the zoomed out view. After doing this 5 or 6 times it will finally stay zoomed in. This was such a problem I finally gave up and now use Opera Mini
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...