1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support leaking internal memory

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by luis9000, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    my motorola triumph is losing internal memory and i didint install apps since a weak and i cleared the cashes contacts and everything i think its leaking memory little by little plz help:(:thinking::thinking::thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Are you using any custom ROMs or are you on stock?
     
  3. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    I rooted it with gingerbreak
     
  4. shmackshmack

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    432
    111
    68
    Los Angeles
    your giving us NO useful information to help you.

    I think your idea of the terminology is wrong too, do you know what a "memory leak" is?


    try again, give very specific examples of your problem with great detail so we can give you better help. if you cant do that, our guess is just as good as yours
     
  5. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    That won't affect it. I know CM7 has a memory leak in the ROM. Stock should not. Where are you looking that it is losing internal memory? (i.e. the menus and whatnot you go through to get there). Are you seeing this in the RAM, or the internal storage?
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  6. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    in the internal storage
     
  7. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    well when i go to the storage on setting and then i go to the internal memory yesterday it said that i had 780 mb and today i haave 767 and it keeps going down and no i did not install apps since like a week now and i also cleared cache with app 2 sd and contacts
     
  8. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    also when i play a game like angry birds for a while some of the memory in the internal storage comes back but then goes down again
     
  9. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    In all fairness, if you're not overly technical, I don't suppose you really know what is useful or relevant information? Wouldn't it be better if we told the user what information is required to assist in solving the problem?
     
    redoscar3, breendrew and alostpacket like this.
  10. shmackshmack

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    432
    111
    68
    Los Angeles

    fair enough.


    on a side note, I think I remember reading that they moved either the cache or dalvik cache to the main partition and when the caches change, the size of the storage will too.

    I dont remember if that was devs from the OV side or for the Triumph side of things, but it was definately for CM7.

    when I run CM7 it does that too, i just always attributed it to changing cache sizes and it never got really bad.
     
    agentc13 likes this.
  11. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    whT is cm7...?
     
  12. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    It's one of the most popular custom ROMs around. The CyanogenMod guys have a team working on ROMs for a number of different phones. They have official versions, but because it's all open source, anyone can take their code and port it to different devices (as long as they give credit).

    CyanogenMod | Android Community Rom based on Gingerbread
     
  13. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    i only rooted my phone but i dont know whats the problem that im losing internal memory is this normal ohhh and i rooted it with gingerbreak
     
  14. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    It has been a long time since my phone was the stock ROM rooted, so I may be missing something obvious. I would attribute this to caches (even if you cleared them in apps2sd) and app data (saves/settings/etc). Unless there is a large amount being lost regularly, I would say it is fairly normal.

    You can try rebooting the phone to see if that changes anything as well.
     
  15. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    when some of the memory goes away it comes back sometimes
     
  16. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    How much are you talking about?
     
  17. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    it goes down little by little
     
  18. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I am thinking it is normal app behaviour. I haven't been on the stock ROM for months so I am just guessing. I wouldn't worry too much unless you are running out of internal memory space.

    By chance do you have auto update on for the market apps?
     
  19. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    how you check that
     
  20. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    I just checked the internal memory and 7 mb came back now I have 767 and I had 760 mb
     
  21. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    Its apps caching things and the stock rom stores debugging information on the data partition which also eats up the internal storage.

    On a side note does no one run a stock based rom anymore? Lol!!!
     
    agentc13 and luis9000 like this.
  22. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    I don't get about stock rombut is it bad to have a stock rom I only rootedit with gingerbreak and what I'm woried is that the memory comes bak and then it goes down little by lttle
     
  23. luis9000

    luis9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    0
    15
    I have another question I rooted my phone and lets say a official upsate comes out for the triumph if I update it will it mess up my phone??....??
     
  24. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    What ROM you use is up to you. There is not anything wrong with staying on stock if it works how you want it to. There are differences in all the ROMs and people are able to pick the one they want to use. I prefer CM7 (and will be trying out CM9 when it gets finished!) but that is my preference. Others can use whatever they prefer, and anyone that tells you different is wrong. Use what you like!

    My wife was pretty happy with 2.2 on her OV. It took me months to convince her to switch and she did and likes it, but either one is fine for her. I switched so it was more similar to mine and thus easier to help her when she had issues since the menus and whatever are the same.

    I don't know. VM isn't very good about official updates. You can always unroot the phone if there is an issue. It isn't very hard to do. If you would find it hard, I am sure we could help you out.
     
  25. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I was thinking along those lines, just didn't know exactly what would be doing it (like the debugging!). Thanks for clarifying a bit!

    I am sure plenty of people do. There was a poll in the ATR section, I think a decent number used Froyocream which is stock based. I know others do as well. And then there are people who don't know how to change it off stock.
     

Share This Page

Loading...