1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Leaving no trace to deactivate a joint Facebook account

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Android Question, Jul 17, 2016.

  1. Android Question

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Ok, an ex-partner of mine and I shared a Facebook account at one time (don't ask me "why?!") but I'm going to deactivate/close that account. If I use an old phone with no service to do this thru Wi-Fi connected via my activated phone's hotspot, will he be able to find out it was me who deactivated it? I don't care if he finds out the old phone's information such as device model number, network server location, IMEI, IP address, Wi-Fi MAC address, etc, but I'm wondering if my name can possibly be discovered thru the old phone's registered account name when I did have service on it... or maybe thru the Wi-Fi connection to the hotspot I'll be using to/from my activated phone... or maybe thru the IP address that the old phone will be assigned by such Wi-Fi connection... or by any other means I may not be aware of or thought of (?) Thanks in advance for any help, answers, or suggestions.

    (By the way, Facebook notifications for that account are not "ON" as far as via the account phone number or SMS, only via the Gmail account which is limited to comments, friend requests, timeline posts, tags, etc, but not notifications regarding logins from unknown devices, suspicious activities, etc.)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,779
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3,779
    1,938
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    You and the other are the only one's that can deactivate the account.
     
    Hadron likes this.
  3. Noremon

    Noremon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016

    Jul 17, 2016
    81
    12
    38
    If you and him are the only ones that shared it, then it probably would be easy to guess who deactivated it?
     
    Hadron likes this.
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,858
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,858
    16,288
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Unless there is a third person who has the login password for that account surely he'll guess it was you anyway?

    I don't think the other things you name will be worth worrying about. WiFi is nothing to do with your old cellular account, an IP address from the hotspot will be temporary so won't be directly linked to you, etc. If you really want to be cautious you could use a public terminal at a library or something similar. But if he can tell that it was done by an internet user rather than Facebook themselves then you must be the first person he will think of, even if there is nothing to identify you.

    So the real question is, if you delete a FB account do they email the account owner when you do it? If they do, and if you can't stop him seeing that mail (because you don't have access to that email any more, or because he receives it before you can delete it) then he'll know that somebody other than FB themselves did this. I've never deleted a FB account so don't know whether they do send an email notification or not, it's just something I could imagine them doing.

    That said, even if he receives no notification, he'll have to be extremely dim not to suspect it was you.
     
    SavageRobot likes this.
  5. Noremon

    Noremon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016

    Jul 17, 2016
    81
    12
    38
    When I deactivated mine a few times a few years ago (an ex-friend wouldn't leave me be so I took a break) it didn't send out any e-mail. But logging back into an account automatically reactivates it without informing it was reactivated.

    So again, even if you changed the password/e-mail, it would send a change of information to the old e-mail with instructions on if it wasn't the person who did so. But it wouldn't really matter since again it would be easy to guess who had done it.

    An option might be to try to get the account reported for sharing an account or such so Facebook would take care of it. But there probably is no way to have it deactivated cleanly.
     
  6. Just4Rose

    Just4Rose Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016

    Jun 15, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Female
    Homemaker
    San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA
    "I do" have the Gmail account info/password, and "I can" get to the email before he does, as well as delete it... (which, just to recap, this would be the email notification from Facebook advising of any email address change(s), which I'd do prior to deactivating so as to deny him future access/reactivation of such account correct?)
     
  7. Noremon

    Noremon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016

    Jul 17, 2016
    81
    12
    38
    Then you should be able to change the log-in information and deactivate it no problem. But if you are the only other user of the accounts then you'll have to bite the bullet in him knowing it was you. Outside of Facebook suspending the account, there really isn't a way.
     
  8. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    I hope you're not worried about physical retribution. Sounds like he needs to move on.o_O
     

Share This Page

Loading...