1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root LeeDroid v2.0, A2SD+

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by d.knight99, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. d.knight99

    d.knight99 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    265
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    265
    38
    63
    Student
    Bournemouth, UK
    It's done. It took me many hours getting around some rather silly little errors and stuff but I have root.

    So let me just make sure I have this all correct...

    Clockworkmod Recovery is a small program that's installed on a partition on the Phones internal memory that will run right off the bootloader and allows you to easily work on your main OS partition (like flashing new ROMs, themes etc) right?

    Flashing new ROMs is as simple as dropping the zip files on your SD card and using Clockworkmod recovery to install them?

    Right. OK it's pretty straight forward. So I'm using LeeDroid at the moment and it seems alright. I've put an EXT partition on my SD card for Apps but I can't figure out how to actually put them there? Or does it do it automatically?

    Now, what happens if I want to change ROM? I know the process, but I have loads of apps and settings that I really don't wanna have to redo everytime I reload a ROM. Is there a way of preserving apps, settings etc when you flash new ROMs?

    Oh and can anyone else suggest any alternative to LeeDroid that I can check out. Just wanna make sure I get something I really like and I know there are a few around.

    Cheers!
     

    Advertisement

  2. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    Yes the apps2sd go to the card automatically.

    You need titanium backup to save your apps for reinstalling, it can also save your settings too.

    As for other roms i use neophyte rom & i have also used Nextsense but this has changed name to AuraxTsense, this is also by neophyte his roms are very stable.
    Some people swear by defrost not that i have used it yet.
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    a2SD+ is automatic. If you install "android mate" which is a kind of file explorer, and browse to data/app (on the phone not sd card) you will see the address bar changes to an SDcard location.

    I like defrost, but its a non-sense rom. Nexus 1 port in fact. If you run launcher pro, its a good choice. The status bar is silver but you can install a HTC status bar via the defrost setup app or change it to a colour of your choice via cyanogenmod settings. You can also download overclock kernels via the defrost set up. Its fast and stable.

    Some roms you can install over each other without a data wipe, but sometimes there are issues and you have to go back and restore (Always make a nandroid backup via rom manager) then wipe and reinstall.

    If you have to wipe, you can backup prior with titanium backup, which will backup your apps, data and settings. be careful not to overwrite system files though.

    Hope this helps.

    If you do go to Defrost, you will need to wipe if LeeDroid is a sense rom.
     
  4. Burrid

    Burrid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    68
    7
    16
    How is battery life with auraxtsense rom?
     
  5. d.knight99

    d.knight99 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    265
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    265
    38
    63
    Student
    Bournemouth, UK
    Ok thanks guys.

    So you're saying that if I do wipe but use titanium backup I can just restore all my apps and settings over the top of my newly installed ROM? Even down to LP homescreen setups and stuff?
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Ive never manager to get LP to restore properly with titanium to be honest. I get lots of "problem loading widget" and force closes. I don't put a lot of stock in it, but its a must have back up.

    Ive seen mybackup restore homescreens, but only sense. Maybe LP works too. Get the trial and check it out.
     
  7. sookster54

    sookster54 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    906
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    906
    56
    78
    You should keep apps that uses widgets on the internal storage. Download and install LP then restore LP settings through LP's perefence menu (providing you backed it up previously).
     
  8. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    launcher pro, or any other launcher for that matter cannot restore all widgets. launcher pro does have its own backup util you can use. but i find that titanium restores it perfectly anyway
     
  9. Burrid

    Burrid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    68
    7
    16
    What rom are you on lekky?
     
  10. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    defrost
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...