1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Legend use in Spain

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pvcprinting, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. pvcprinting

    pvcprinting Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    Am new to android phones and require some advice

    Am about to go to Spain on holiday and dont want to be hit with a massive bill for the phone being active in the background

    What do i need to do to ensure it is effectivly dead whilst away?

    not fussed about calls / texts coming through but dont want it being connected 24/7

    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. eddyhall

    eddyhall Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    7
    2
    6
    Hi there.

    I would suggest:

    Settings -> Wireless & Networks -> Mobile Networks -> Turn off data roaming, & turn off Enable Always-On Mobile Connection.

    Also, Settings -> Accounts and Sync -> Turn off Background data, & turn off Auto sync.

    Cheers,
    Eddy
     
    pvcprinting likes this.
  3. dsb18

    dsb18 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    I to are due to be in Spain at the end of the month and have already been through all the data settings to make sure I know what to turn off, but I realised when you do this to the Legend (and any other always connected smartphone) it totally negates the reason for having a smartphone so I decided to not take the HTC and take my small nokia (dumb) phone instead I wont be scared to loose or break it and it is less of a bulk in my pocket, just a thought.
     
  4. pvcprinting

    pvcprinting Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    Is it possible to just use WiFi whilst abroad without getting stung with a massive bill
    Place we are stopping in IasWiFi available but can I use it for free without any roaming charges
     
  5. pvcprinting

    pvcprinting Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    Is it possible to just use WiFi whilst abroad without getting stung with a massive bill
    Place we are stopping in IasWiFi available but can I use it for free without any roaming charges
     
  6. c_man

    c_man Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    174
    40
    43
    London, UK
    Yes of course. Connecting to a WiFi network will be free of charge [just as if you were plugging in your PC to a network]. If you were to incur any costs via WiFi, you would be first be presented with a payment page [e.g. pay €15 for the next 24hrs] requesting credit card details before you could access any page on the Internet. This behaviour is common in hotels.

    Simple answer: WiFi usage will be free. Have a good trip...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...