1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Legit Phones?

Discussion in 'Boost Mobile' started by Hooligan77, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. Hooligan77

    Hooligan77 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    130
    8
    36
    Medium Pimp'N
    Looking on ebay, and it looks like there are some people selling phones that are "Flashed" to work on boost mobile from sprint. You can get an EVO 3D, Samsung Galaxy S or S2 and such. Or you can supply the phone and they can flash it by either sending it in, or remotely.

    What do you guys think? Legit? I may switch if that's the case, and purchase one of those even tho it doesn't have the 4G.


    here are a few links of what I'm talking about...

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/HTC-Evo-3D-...0809909638?pt=Cell_Phones&hash=item4ab1c2bd86

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Remotely-Fl...0731054099?pt=Cell_Phones&hash=item27c05d2413
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Based on the sellers' feedback it looks to be legit. I would be weary of purchasing it still but I usually am very weary of using ebay or craigslist for services regardless.
     
  3. FyrFytr998

    FyrFytr998 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    34
    6
    16
    Looks interesting, but the whole donor phone thing is throwing me off. Will Boost think I purchased a Sanyo from them?

    I mean I guess it's a win win for people with older phones, but what about warranty issues with new phones he selling flashed?

    Another thing I find perplexing is how it's on the Sprint network, but costs so much less than Sprint's Unlimited plan. Is it throttled? Is it TRULY unlimited?

    I am interested if I can truly get FULL unlimited everything from them, because I can basically pay half what I pay Sprint.
     
  4. Hooligan77

    Hooligan77 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    130
    8
    36
    Medium Pimp'N
    I'm assuming that they will "Think" you have whatever phone you purchased and started with them yeah. And if it works like Virgin Mobile works, then it runs off the sprint network, but only at 3g speed, and no roaming. Works well for me, as I live in a metro area, and have wifi pretty much every where I go.
     
  5. goat03

    goat03 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    Basically the profiles from the "donor" phone are put on the Evo and so it now works on Boost. Boost thinks it is just the Sanyo still. Think along the lines of cloned ESN and illegal stuff. Going to jail for it? Probably not.
     
  6. Hooligan77

    Hooligan77 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    130
    8
    36
    Medium Pimp'N
    Update:

    I ordered an HTC EVO 3D, and found a company that does not require a donor phone, and I guess the donor phone thing is "Old School" on flashing now. If you go to YouTube, check out FlashedPhones.net's page. I don't know if you actually search by there webpage or not as I really don't do youtube too much. But this company seems pretty legit, and they have a few videos out there about there process and how the people doing it with the donor phones get a lot of errors.

    I'll keep everyone updated on this, should have my Evo by tuesday, then going to send it out to get flashed, and get my number ported over from virgin to boost.
     
  7. jrmckins

    jrmckins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    761
    101
    93
    any update? What did it cost?
     
  8. Hooligan77

    Hooligan77 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    130
    8
    36
    Medium Pimp'N

    Everything is working great, no issues, and have been running it going on my 2nd month now. I have a full feature phone on the unlimited plan. No 4G (not a big deal for me, I am usually on wifi anyways) and coverage has pretty much been the same as when I was with Virgin Mobile.

    Cost was about $280 for the phone (mint condition -but used with a clean ESN) and $100 bucks for the flash. Would have been cheaper, but I wanted the phone back quicker, and they had a few options for price vs. how long it would take.

    Very simple process as the company I had it done through sets up everything for you, I think they are a boost dealer actually. They set up my account and everything, and have pretty quick response time with any questions I had. I would definately recommend the company I went thru if your wanting to run a full feature phone with them. Shoot me a PM if you want more info with the company name, they also sell new phones that are flashed, so you don't have to source out a phone, and have more than just the Evo 3D.
     
  9. nkrg7794

    nkrg7794 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012

    Jun 5, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hey i wanted to know which flash company u went thru....thanx in advance
     
  10. CooLoser

    CooLoser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    118
    8
    36
    New York
    Its Legit alright. I have a Nexus S 4G flashed to boost mobile with data speeds over 1 mbps and calling and texting working with the boost shrinkage unlimited plan

    If you need help you can ask me or the person who helped me "kolosus"
     
  11. kbpcrepair

    kbpcrepair Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    1
    0
    5


    they do use donor phones but its included in the price of the flash which is 99 for a remote flash and they told me if i pay for flashing 2 phones at once i get 20 off per phone so instead of 200 i will only be paying 160
     
  12. Hooligan77

    Hooligan77 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    130
    8
    36
    Medium Pimp'N
    The flash has worked fine for the most part. Don't know what happened, but about april or may, my picture messaging stopped working. I can send audio, but not pictures through text, quite annoying. I tried contacting the company, but no response thus far, typical.
     
  13. kolosus

    kolosus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    923
    341
    113
    PA/NJ Usa
    tube517 likes this.
  14. 9h0s7

    9h0s7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    92
    24
    18
    I wouldn't trust the donor data not being recycled.
     
  15. Hooligan77

    Hooligan77 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    130
    8
    36
    Medium Pimp'N
    Thanks much, I would LOVE to try that, but no the 3G isn't working. Handset got updated to Ice cream sammich yesterday, 3G was working for a bit, but isn't now, so I don't know if it's an outage or what.
     

Share This Page

Loading...