1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Let down when I needed it.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jaybo1973, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Hi all

    For the last 2 weeks since I got my desire, I have not left it alone.

    Rather than just playing with it, I really needed last night. I went to nottingham and needed directions from the car park to the Thai resturant. Hay hay, my desire will get me there! Wrong. Again, a very poor 3G signal (in a city centre?) It dropped on to roaming 2G, so no access to data. After walking in completely the wrong direction for 10 minutes, it picked the signal back up and got us there.

    Again today, went out into the sticks. "I know, ill use OS maps on my desire!" wrong, no 3G signal again. This is becoming a pain now, my signal strength is always poor, when others around me on other networks have a great signal. I am on 3 and they are known for this by the sound of it.

    I have now enabled data roaming as from what I understand, 3 have a deal with Orange (for free) for these holes in coverage? Can anyone confirm this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I have heard that too (orange).
     
    jaybo1973 likes this.
  3. westbros

    westbros Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    293
    19
    38
    On the othr hand it is said that 3 has the best 3G network/coverage in the UK. I've just switched to 3 from Orange because their (Orange's) coverage here in one of the largest towns in the south-east was pitiful in 2G let alone 3G. I did not get 3G all the time with Orange. So far since I moved to 3 I've had no problem getting 3G and HSPA. Perhaps you were unlucky in Nottingham with a mast down?
     
  4. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    I don't know. I never seem to have a good signal no matter where I am. Hometown, work, out and about. Where ever.
     
  5. marshduck

    marshduck Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    16
    5
    16
    I have a Desire on 3, and i live in the sticks and I find that it is essential to leave Data roaming on all of the time. It appears 3 will roam to Orange. The little R appears above the signal bars.

    Initially I was worried that this would mean that I would get wacking great data charges, but it this has not happened to me ever. I think it must be the way the handset is set up becuase I didn't get this with my old Non-smartphone handset on 3.

    I think if you go abroad, you should turn roaming off, but in the UK you can leave it on.

    Sorry to hear it has let you down, but Google Maps has worked great for me both in Cumbria (High Cup Nick) and Wales (Sugar Loaf and Skirrid) without any problems.

    Cheers
     
  6. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    I'll see how it goes for a while. Will contact 3 though if it keeps doing it. Maps was a major factor when I decided to get a smart phone.

    Will be going to the north yorkshire moors in a couple of months, it would be nice if maps would work up there.
     
  7. beanbean

    beanbean Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    not sure if you guys are rooted or not if so try flashing the latest radio (.44) now I've got full bars wherever I go... (west london)
     
  8. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Im not at the moment. didnt feel the need being unbranded
     
  9. marshduck

    marshduck Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    16
    5
    16
    To be fair, I don't think that I would trust the maps over the wire, in these circumstances.

    Take a look at the register Group Test: smartphone satnav apps ? reghardware

    I think you should consider, getting a sat nav app which stores the maps on the phone.

    Cheers
     
  10. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Thanks for the link. It is more OS map info I am interested in though really. I like google maps for walking about towns or cities, although a poor signal screws this up. I hope future updates from google maps allows map info to be saved to SD. Even if it is something like a 5 mile radius
     
  11. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Do you think that's something that will be incorporated in an official update from htc? WOuld be good for us non rooted Fraidy cats
     
  12. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Do you think its more a desire issue rather than a 3 issue then?
     
  13. Haste75

    Haste75 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    72
    8
    16
    If you can stick it out for a little while longer, orange and t-mobile have agreed to share phone masts.

    From October 5th, both t-mobile and orange customers will be able to access a more powerfull network nationwide.
     
  14. tiring_day

    tiring_day Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    61
    8
    36
    I have a Desire on 3 and have never had this issue. I am branded to 3 so no Froyo and no latest radio software and I have never been let down. I am surprised that in the middle of a big city you couldn't get a data signal. Might be your phone that is the issue, not sure if 3 could test it in one of their shops.

    Steve
     
  15. Elsie

    Elsie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    40
    2
    16
    At work (J27 of the M1, north of Notts) my Desire on Orange has truly awful reception. However, when I bought my iPad I also bought a Mifi from 3 and without doubt, this is the best gadget I have ever purchased. When the Orange signal let's me down I turn on the mifi and get a really fast connection. My next contract is going to be with 3 as I've been so impressed by how quick the mifi has been, even when we on Hadrians Wall!
     
  16. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    I might contact 3 then if nobody else has an issue
     
  17. kilroy

    kilroy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    78
    13
    18
    NSW, Australia
    I know it's not really the reason for your problem, but I think it is ridiculous you can't install Google Maps to your memory card for offline use. When you are on a pretty lame data plan (250Mb p/month) you can't really afford the bandwidth for navigating around the place. You would think that they would at least allow you to store certain routes in your cache. Anyway, that's my $0.02.
    Cheers
    Shane
     
  18. benchmark

    benchmark Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    124
    7
    36
    Get yourself some navigation software that works with or without GSM or 3G signals. I use Navigon and it has not let me down ....yet.
     
  19. kilroy

    kilroy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    78
    13
    18
    NSW, Australia
    Problem is a lot don't have Australian maps. I'll have a look into Navigon and see.
     
  20. kilroy

    kilroy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    78
    13
    18
    NSW, Australia
    Can't find it on the Market. I would buy CoPilot, but I can't find an Australian version and I have read that 2.2 isn't supported yet.
     
  21. master_yoda

    master_yoda Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    260
    50
    53
    United Kingdom
    I work out in the sticks and can just about get a 3G signal on the 3 network at work (1 bar average). On Vodafone and o2 a 3G signal doesnt even exist at my work, although in the worst location there (no 3G on any network) Vodafone does have a much better 2G signal than the orange one that 3 falls back on.

    3 is by far the best for 3G coverage overall and data speeds from my experience around the midlands, but obviously it depends what part of the country you are in.

    Could be worth getting the handset tested if your getting alot signal problems in the City centre
     
  22. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Yeah, I need to get something sorted by the sound of it. Sat at work now with 2 bars. Used to get 4 on Tesco mobile
     
  23. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Right, enough talking, I want it sorted. Should i contact 3 or CPW?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...