1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support LF a GPS App

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Osprey22, Sep 18, 2010.

  1. Osprey22

    Osprey22 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    The scenario is I am out in the woods, searching for a land nav point. What I am asking is that, does anyone know of a GPS app that I can plug 8 digit grid coordinates in and it will direct me to the point? Before you launch into the triage , Yes I know how to plot and find points, what I am aiming at is to save time that is all. Thank you :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    lol what base are you on? n must be nice they let you take cell phones out to a land nav course, my unit never allowed it
     
  3. Osprey22

    Osprey22 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Hehe they don't...If I were to say Camp James. E Rudder you would never believe me :p
     
  4. dlbrando

    dlbrando Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    78
    5
    16
    Air Force WSO
    Pensacola
    I would love to hae a program I could plug lat long into as well
     
  5. Osprey22

    Osprey22 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Wow someone else that is in Pensacola! Omfg!
     
  6. mxsjw

    mxsjw Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    1,311
    171
    143
    Topo has an app out, downloaded the lite version last night.
     
  7. RFHavens

    RFHavens Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Government Service
    NC
    Though now retired I am still in the Fort Bragg area as a GS. I have used with great success ActiveGPS which does MGRS (Grids), UTM (Grids) and of course all aspects of Lat Long, also there is GPS Test by Chartcross Ltd which has all the same options but a very different display. Active GPS allows you to add way points using whichever coordinate setting you chose in the settings menu. Quite accurate as I have compared under an open sky and been within one meter most of the time.

    Hope this helps, Robert
     
  8. Will222

    Will222 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    2
    0
    25
    I know this is an old post, but I wanted to answer for future searches.

    Land Nav Assistant does this exactly. It's designed specifically for Army, Marine, and ROTC land nav, so it's lightweight and fast.
     
  9. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    the army should frown on handheld devices from getting you from point a to point b, that is why they call it land nav

    o well future of today, is the past of tomorrow
     
  10. Doit2it

    Doit2it Android Expert
    Rank:
     #138
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    1,962
    467
    183
    Male
    FedEx... yea, those guys
    Nashville, TN
    Don't know anything about Land Nav, but this kinda looks like what you want:

    Land Nav Assistant


    Read the last paragraph in the description about NOT using this app for training!

    I'm don't know of an app with this specific intent, but I do know the GeoCaching app called C:Geo allows input of Lat/Long. Just select Any destination from the main menu. Coords can be entered 1 of 4 ways:
    Plain
    DDD.DDDDD
     
  11. Doit2it

    Doit2it Android Expert
    Rank:
     #138
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    1,962
    467
    183
    Male
    FedEx... yea, those guys
    Nashville, TN
    I forgot, you can also put lat and long directly into Google Maps. Just be sure to use the minus (-) symbol for Western coordinates for the US.
     

Share This Page

Loading...