1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root LG Ally Velocity 1.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by katrais, Jan 1, 2012.

1. katrais

katrais Lurker
    None

Jan 1, 2012
    HI, I'm new at rooting, and i attempted to root my Ally with gingerbreak 1.1. i have superuser and root access, and deleted some bloatware for more internal memory. but now i want to install Velocity 1.1 onto my phone. do i have to unroot my phone first, and how would I? can i install velocity without the GUIDE? or is gingerbreak the same as the 2.2.1 Froyo downgrade thing?

Advertisement

2. db2u

db2u Well-Known Member
    None

Jul 28, 2011
    Nope you dont need to unroot. I dont think you have to downgrade assuming your stock is 2.2.2. Thats what I started with and went to Velocity 1.1 just like you are doing. Honestly though velocity 1.1 is a bit old and you will have to run the scripts several times once up to date or you will get nags about updating your os. Might want to do v1.2 or go with stormdroid or bionic maybe. Its totally up to you though.

Just get a custom recovery on the phone and make a nandroid of everything you have before starting. I believe the instructions on the velocity 1.1 release page are pretty inclusive but I havent looked at them in a long while.

3. imnotmikal

imnotmikal Android Expert
    None

Jun 7, 2010
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    Since you rooted with Gingerbreak, you don't have a fastboot, and essential recovery tool in case anything goes wrong while flashing.

I highly recommend stopping by here for help on flashing fastboot.
    freenode Web IRC (qwebirc)

And yes, Velo 1.1 is old. I would recommend StormDroid 1.2.1 or Velo 1.2.1.

4. db2u

db2u Well-Known Member
    None

Jul 28, 2011
    I rooted with gingerbreak I have fastboot... what did I do to get this function?

5. imnotmikal

imnotmikal Android Expert
    None

Jun 7, 2010
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    Interesting...

6. j2cool2012