1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root LG Esteem couple of questions.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Maximilian144, May 9, 2012.

  1. Maximilian144

    Maximilian144 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012

    Apr 9, 2012
    7
    0
    25
    I have a couple of questions about the LG Esteem, I have just got the phone Monday, and I used it for one day stock. I currently have the phone rooted, and I am running the broken out ROM, with the blitzKrieg Kernal. I just have some questions on weather or not I can use the homeless kernal along side the broken out rom. I really like the rom, and would really like to keep it. I just want to find a balance of performance. and if someone could please take the time to help me with some good set cpu settings. I know my phone can do 1.5ghz, and I would like to have the cpu running as low as possible while the screen is off. Thanks and advanced.
     

    Advertisement

  2. toke_

    toke_ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    447
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011

    Sep 1, 2011
    447
    40
    43
    South Beach, Miami
    go into recovery and wipe cache and dalvik then flash homeless kernal. It worked for me. And about the screen off, just do max 245 and min 122
     
  3. esv9591

    esv9591 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011

    Oct 4, 2011
    66
    7
    16
    Cumming, Georgia
    Buy "set cpu" or any oc app off the market (playstore) most apps have a "profile" that you can create. Set the minimum to the lowest and the max to 245.
     
  4. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    413
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    Get setcpu, Antutu or ROM toolbox and make presets for screen off and set the Mhz to what you want.
     
  5. racinmason001

    racinmason001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    301
    30
    43
    Journeyman Mason
    Hesperia, Ca
    Right now I'm running #2 and homeless Kernal. When i flashed over broken out it didn't work just looped. So i wiped and installed #2, homeless, ldk-ick #2. Running smooth.
     
  6. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    413
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    Did you wipe everything before you tried to install BO rom? Rom has been tested by MANY people. Hell it was the main rom I was running when I was on D so I know it works.
     
  7. Maximilian144

    Maximilian144 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012

    Apr 9, 2012
    7
    0
    25
    So I just have question if I wipe all my data, I can re install BO rom with the homeless kernal. Also what do you guys think is the best rom to go with the homeless kernal.
     
  8. racinmason001

    racinmason001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    301
    30
    43
    Journeyman Mason
    Hesperia, Ca
    Yes i wiped for the rom and did not for the Kernal which came a month later. Prob y it looped :thinking:


    The ROM was fine tho just wanted a change.
     
  9. racinmason001

    racinmason001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    301
    30
    43
    Journeyman Mason
    Hesperia, Ca


    I'm sure it would work. Just make a backup!
     
  10. racinmason001

    racinmason001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    301
    30
    43
    Journeyman Mason
    Hesperia, Ca
    When i first started doing this stuff i did not make backups. BIG MISTAKE!
    Now i backup everything. Even when i change an icon with ROM toolbox :D
     
  11. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    lol I remember those days ;)
     
    racinmason001 likes this.
  12. racinmason001

    racinmason001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    301
    30
    43
    Journeyman Mason
    Hesperia, Ca
    Yea you do! You bailed me out more than once :D
     
  13. Maximilian144

    Maximilian144 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012

    Apr 9, 2012
    7
    0
    25
    I have a back up of when I first was about to install BO if something goes wrong all I have to do is just install that right. Can someone tell me what they think is the best rom to go along side the homeless kernal.
     
  14. racinmason001

    racinmason001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    301
    30
    43
    Journeyman Mason
    Hesperia, Ca
    I used to think it was broken out. Note I'm thinking #2. My batt life has been exceptional!
     
  15. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    6,929
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6,929
    2,687
    633
    Male
    Detroit,Michigan
    Yeah if you made a backup prior to installing a new ROM you just have to enter into recovery and restore it if something goes wrong. Like the debloated ROMs here..#2 -LD LG..seem to be snappier and battery life is excellent:thumbup:
     
  16. Maximilian144

    Maximilian144 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012

    Apr 9, 2012
    7
    0
    25
    Ok, but I just have a question, I currently have the blitz kernal installed if I go with the #2 rom (I have been looking at that) will I need to install a new kernal or keep the same, would I be able to install the homeless kernal along side #2 I am just looking for smooth performance and decent batt life I don't play games on my phone I have a itouch for that :)
     
  17. Maximilian144

    Maximilian144 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012

    Apr 9, 2012
    7
    0
    25
    I am somewhat new to this, I used to have a Samsung captivate, and this phone is everything I wanted more of the captivate. The bigger screen front facing camera, flash notification light. I just really want to find the right balance for this phone, and I think I will be good.
     
  18. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    6,929
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6,929
    2,687
    633
    Male
    Detroit,Michigan
    If you flash this ROM it has the "speed kernel. When you flash a new ROM it comes with the kernel that is in the ROM. If you wanted to try a different kernel that is up to you. Just make sure it is for the version you are on.
    The speed kernel included with this ROM = not able to be overclocked. Try it as the phone is very quick and responsive even without overclocking-you will notice an increase in battery life also.
    You just have to find the best combo that suits you-that's the fun of it I think :D
    Just make sure to backup frequently so in case you run into issues you always have an escape route:)
     
    DONLATINOHEAT likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...